Get Help
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mary: Theology, Culture, Devotion & Theotokos: Books

Designed for graduate and undergraduate classes, but useful for anyone doing research on Mary, the Mother of Jesus

Keyword Searches

Make a good guess and search by Keyword. You can narrow down too many results by combining your first word or phrase with another word or phrase, using AND as the connector. For example:

Find Books at LMU

Use LINUS, the Library's catalog to find books, E-books, videos and other materials that LMU owns or has on reserve. Use the dropdown to change the kind of search you want to do (see boxes at left and right for explanations of Keyword vs. Subject Heading searches).

Request books from other libraries

LINK+
LINK+ is a combined catalog of over 40 academic and public libraries throughout California and Nevada. All LMU students, staff, and faculty, can self-request books from LINK+ libraries online. (You''ll need your MyLMU login name and password.)
The books are delivered to LMU at no charge to the borrower. Books arrive in 3 business days and are held at the Circulation counter for 10 days. The check out period is 21 days. NOTE: Overdue fines are $1 per day. Read more...
RESEARCH TIP:  Start your research early, so you can take advantage of LINK+!

Online Texts!

These databases provide full text access to historical and modern Catholic works. 

Give them a try!

Past Masters contains fully searchable philosophy texts, but among the authors are St. Augustine, St. Anselm, St. Thomas Aquinas, and St. Francis of Assisi.

Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation contains transcriptions and facsimiles of documents, including papal and synodal decrees, catechisms and inquisitorial manuals, biblical commentaries, theological treatises and systems, liturgical writings, saints' lives, and devotional works by Catholic authors of the 16th and 17th centuries.  Languages include English and Latin, among others, and texts are available in clear modern transcriptions or (for those who wish) you can see a facsimile reproduction of the original printing.

Patrologia Latina contains the full text of Migne's monumental work, assembling all the works of the Latin Church Fathers; it is fully searchable.

Patrologiae Graecae reproduces the full text of Migne's monumental assembly of all the works of the Greek Church Fathers in a straight .pdf format.

ebrary is a collection of thousands of scholarly books in all disciplines.  Search by keyword, author or title to get a full, searchable text.  Register (for free) and you will be able to highlight passages, write notes, and save the marked text (and quick return access to the book and page) in your own personal online bookshelf.

Local Resource!

Major Dissertation-Finding Database

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses

This database contains over 90% of North American doctoral dissertations and a smaller percentage of theses in the humanities and social sciences. Includes full text of dissertations and theses published 1997-present, and abstracts for earlier years.  Dissertation authors sometimes withhold permission for inclusion, which explains many of that 10% not in this database -- especially if the dissertation is going to be re-edited and republished as a book.