LibGuides: Film & Television: Databases (Articles)

Most Useful Places to Search: Film & Television

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Communication Studies, Film Television and Media Studies
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Book Reviews
Screen Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Theatre Arts
Description: Streaming video database from Bloomsb containing a broad range of content including books, screenplays, overview articles and learning resources.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Film Television and Media Studies, Film and Television Production, Screenwriting
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Book Reviews
Broadcasting America: The Rise of Mass Media and Communication This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Communication Studies, Film & Television, History
Description: Discover how the expansion of radio and television technology, and the rise of mass media empires, accelerated America's transformation into a consumer-based society through the lens of pioneer David Sarnoff, President of the Radio Corporation of America (RCA), and other industry papers.
Contents: Industry Reports; Primary Sources; Streaming Video
Socialism on Film This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General streaming video collection from Adam Matthew. Includes materials from mostly the 1900s. Mainly focused on USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the German Democratic Republic, Britain and Cuba. This collection of films from the Communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens.
Contents: Original-language primary texts; Primary Sources; Streaming Video
Independent World Cinema: Classics and Contemporary Film This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Many
Description: Streaming video collection from Alexander Street Press containing more than 400 independent and limited release films.
Contents: Streaming Video

Most Useful Databases: Multiple Subjects / General Research

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes materials from 1887-present.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Book Reviews
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General online archive from ProQuest containing full text.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines