Get Help
Skip to Main Content

Hebrew Bible (O.T.) Research: Bible Tools

This guide is aimed at students taking lower division courses on the Hebrew Scriptures ('Old Testament')

Kinds of Tools

Word Study Tools

What meanings, associations, and significance did/does this word/name have?

Concordances

Where/where else does this word appear in the Bible?

Note: Be sure the concordance/harmony you are using is of the same English translation you are using, or the words might not match! A King James Version concordance won't work with the NRSV translation.

Atlases

Where did Biblical events take place?  What were the national boundaries of Israel (and Judah) and the surrounding countries/empires at particular Biblical periods?  Where were the major and minor places mentioned in the Bible?

"Combination Tools"

Where can I find Biblical texts, Bible dictionaries and other tools, and be able to create my own concordance?

NOTE: See the Commentaries tabs in this LibGuide for another important class of Bible study tools.

Bible Study Tools: Examples (Keep in the REF area!)

Dictionaries

      Word Study Tools (See Word Study tab for a more complete list)

      • The Anchor Bible Dictionary (6 volumes) Edit or Delete link_501016 Get Quick Stats
        A good place to look up Biblical words, concepts, and people. Good background as you begin your study
      • Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament (15 volumes) (Botterweck) REF BS 440 .B5713                                        A highly professional Bible tool, using very focused in-depth articles to cover the linguistic history and usage history of the Hebrew and now Aramaic words in the Hebrew Testament.

          Concordances

          • Analytical Concordance to the Bible (Young) REF BS 425 .Y7 1955 KING JAMES VERSION
          • Note: The Bibloi  CD-ROM database, available on the Reference computers (only) gives you the possibility to create your own concordance for a Biblical word or phrase.  Be sure to pick the translation you are using (unless you read Hebrew and/or Greek)

            Atlases

            "Combination Tools"

            • Bibloi (CD-ROM) - A software package available only on the Library's REFERENCE computers. It holds the Bible in the original languages and in different translations (including the NRSV), as well as dictionaries and other Biblical tools. You can put in a word and create your own concordance of verses with that word or phrase, whether from one or more books of the Bible. You can pull up the text in both English and the original language.
            • NOTE: Bibloi is only available on the PC side of Library computers.  Look at the LINUS RECORD for Bibloi to get exact directions for accessing this CD product.

              English Versions

              For a number of English language translations, Luther's German, as well as the Hebrew, Greek  and others,
              please see note on Bibloi at the bottom of the center top box.
               
              From our SCATLA colleagues at Biola University.  Great for pulling up and comparing Bible versions, including versions in languages other than English.
               
              Many languages and versions, searchable texts, other tools
               
              A collection of links to several translations of the Bible, including NRSV.
              Hebrew-English Tanakh: The Jewish Bible  http://www.publishersrow.com/etanakh/#/I/
              Parallel Hebrew and recent English translation in this free offering; viewable on mobile devices as well.
              (Vatican: Congregation on the Clergy) RSV with Catholic commentary/intro for each book; other tools.
               
              L’École Biblique et Archéologique Française de Jérusalem (EBAF)
              This site includes a search engine of their holdings that picks up articles and their bibliographies as well as books. 

              http://www.ebaf.info/?lang=en    Catalog: http://www.ebaf.info/?page_id=1107&lang=en

              P.S. The catalog shows LMU links, but these do not work for books!  Check LINUS instead for title or ISBN.

              Reference Books

              There are numerous Reference books on the Bible and on religion and individual religions. They range from dictionaries to encyclopedias, from concordances to commentaries. Some are also online, but many are not. Try to find the best reference book for your particular purpose, rather than just stick to one format! A Reference librarian can help with this. ASK!

              The Prophet Daniel

               

              Daniel

              Portico of Modena Cathedral, ca. 1100 C.E.

              photo: T. Amodeo, 2010