Databases can contain links to the text of the articles they contain. If not:
Look for the "link to full text" option. This may look different in different databases, but it's there in most every indexing database. If a recent year, we may have the item in print in the Library.
If you know which specific periodical, consult LMU's Journal List (on the Library homepage) to determine if the Library owns the article you need. This List tells you if the journal is available in print or in one of our online databases.
Search the exact Book, chapter, and verses (e.g. Genesis 2: 4-25)
Find the specific Descriptor for it within the database
Search both elements independently for wider coverage
If there is a common name for the pericope (e.g.,the Burning Bush, the Deluge, Battle of Jericho), you can use that as well for even wider coverage.
Creation of Adam and Eve
El Greco triptych
Estense Gallery, Modena
Subjects: Theological Studies, Philosophy, Catholic Studies, Ethics
Description: Research database from ProQuest containing full text. Keyword searches search the entire text of articles and dissertations.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Dissertations
Subjects: Theological Studies, Philosophy, Classics and Archaeology, Catholic Studies, Ethics, Jewish Studies
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes materials from 1880s-present.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Books; Book Chapters; Book Reviews
Here are three tutorials for searching for articles regarding Biblical texts in the ATLA Religion Database. They have closed captioning, so you can use them with or without the audio track.
Request articles that LMU does not own via your ILLiad account. If supplied by an ILLiad partner, delivery time (via e-mail) is 3-5 working days. If if has to be photocopied and mailed, it will take longer. For more information, see the DDS LibGuide.