LibGuides: Statistics and Demographics: Demographics

U.S. Census

U.S. Census Bureau data from the decennial (10-year) census, American Community Survey, Economic Census, and other surveys is freely available online. You can also access and use many of their datasets in SimplyMap and Data-Planet in the LMU library databases.

Census data:

data.census.gov
Platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau.
State & County QuickFacts
Quick facts from Census.gov
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Published since 1878.
U.S. Census Bureau (Census.gov)
Homepage for the federal Census Bureau

About the census:

Census Glossary
U.S. Census Bureau glossary
Census Data Access Tools
Ways to access and manipulate census data beyond American Factfinder

Other U.S. Demographics

SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: Data collection containing U.S. Census and EASI data. A web-based mapping application that allows users to create interactive maps, charts, and reports using 100,000+ data variables.
Contents: Statistics / Datasets; Statistics - U.S. Census
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subscription database with over 37,000 downloadable data series in historical context on topics ranging from slavery and the Confederate States of America to education, health, and the economy.

Child Trends Databank Indicators
Child Trends, nonprofit research organization, focuses and develops research indicators of children's well being.
Pew Research Center
A respected fact tank that provides information on major issues, attitudes, and trends shaping America and the world.
Migration Policy Institute Data Hub
National and state-level demographic, social, and economic data about immigrants to the U.S., with some international data.

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database of poll and survey data. Includes materials from 1935-present. Surveys mostly from North American perspective.
Contents: Data; Primary Sources

Kids Count
A project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation, KIDS COUNT is the premier source for data on child and family well-being in the United States. Access hundreds of indicators, download data and create reports and graphics on the KIDS COUNT Data Center that support smart decisions about children and families.

International Demographics

Subscription databases:

Passport by Euromonitor International This link opens in a new window

Government & agency data online:

CIA World Factbook
Population Reference Bureau Data Finder
UNdata
UNESCO Institute for Statistics
U.S. Census Bureau International Database
World Bank Data
- This link opens in a new window