Finding background information at the beginning of your research is important if you are not an expert in the subject area or not sure from what angle to approach your topic. Background information can provide:
Spend a little time searching in the resources on this page and you'll be better prepared to find pertinent scholarly articles and write a convincing argument.
This link opens in a new windowSubjects: MANY
Description: General e-book collection from Gale Cengage Learning containing full text.
Contents: eBooks; Encyclopedias.
This link opens in a new windowSubjects: Art History, Studio Arts, Classics and Archaeology
Description: Research database containing full text. Essential reference work containing the Grove Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists.
Contents: Dictionaries; Encyclopedias
Because the field of Art History is so broad, these titles represent only a small sub-set of our collection. Not sure where to start? Ask a librarian for help!
To find biographies of a specific artist or art critic, try a subject search with the individual's Last name, First name. This will work both in the library catalog and in the online research databases.
Some other places to look for biographical information:
This link opens in a new windowSubjects: Art History, Studio Arts, Classics and Archaeology
Description: Research database containing full text. Essential reference work containing the Grove Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists.
Contents: Dictionaries; Encyclopedias