Skip to Main Content

Art Therapy

Library resources for students in LMU's Marital and Family Therapy graduate program.

Key Reference Resources

APA Style web site by the APA
Quick reference citation examples and other resources for APA Style and the Publication Manual's use. Introduces 7th edition and provides overviews of changes and most-cited examples.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association Staff
Call Number: Online options at https://apastyle.apa.org/
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5-TR by American Psychiatric Association Staff; Carolyn Kernberger
Call Number: Part of LMU Library Psychiatry Online subscription
The latest edition of the most comprehensive resource used by health professionals, social workers, and forensic and legal specialists to diagnose and classify mental disorders. It is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods by Lisa M. Given (Editor)
Call Number: ebook - online via library catalog

SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from SAGE Publications containing full text. It includes books, journals, reference materials, handbooks, datasets, cases, and videos about qualitative and quantitative research methods.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; E-books; Streaming Video; Statistics / Datasets

Course texts available from library

MFTH 600 - The Modern History of Art Therapy in the United States by Maxine Borowsky Junge
Call Number: Ebook unlimited users may view (printing may be limited)
MFTH 604 - Child Art Therapy by Judith Aron Rubin
Call Number: Ebook unlimited users may view (printing may be limited)
MFTH 615 -Art-Based Group Therapy: Theory and Practice by Bruce L. Moon
Call Number: Ebook unlimited users may view (printing may be limited)
MFTH 621 - A People's History of the United States by Howard Zinn
Call Number: Ebook unlimited users may view (printing may be limited)
MFTH 621 - Social Justice, Multicultural Counseling, and Practice by Heesoon Jun
Call Number: Ebook unlimited users may view (printing may be limited)
MFTH 638 - DSM - 5, Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by APA
Call Number: RESERVES RC455.2.C4 D54 2013
Print copy on Reserve in library , electronic access online at above URL
MFTH 640 - Essential Assessment Skills for Couple and Family Therapists by Lee Williams; Todd M. Edwards; JoEllen Patterson; Larry Chamow
Call Number: Ebook: unlimited user may view (printing may be limited)
MFTH 691 - Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association Staff
Call Number: Online, see apastyle.apa.org
Available to rent or buy on two e-book platforms, VitalSource and RedShelf. The Style and Grammar Guidelines at the web site provide a good quick-lookup resource.
MFTH 691 - Writing Literature Reviews by Jose L. Galvan; Melisa C. Galvan
Call Number: e-book
An Introduction to Art Therapy Research by Lynn Kapitan
Call Number: Ebook unlimited users may view (printing may be limited)
Art-Based Research by Shaun McNiff
Call Number: Ebook unlimited users may view (printing may be limited)

Research Tips & Tricks

Library and Database Research Strategies

Click above link to download powerpoint slides that cover library and database strategies and tips.

Literature Review

Writing Literature Reviews by Jose L. Galvan; Melisa C. Galvan
Call Number: e-book

Last Updated: Oct 1, 2024 10:56 AM
URL: https://libguides.lmu.edu/arttherapy
Print Page

Subjects: Art Therapy, Psychology

Tags: marital_and_family_therapy, mfth_600, mfth_691