LibGuides: AfroLatines in Los Angeles: Databases

Newspapers and Magazines Databases

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General primary source collection from Readex containing full text. Includes materials from 1690-1922. Mainly focused on the United States.
Contents: Primary Sources; Newspapers
Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new window
Subjects:Native American
Description: Newspaper collection from Adam Matthew Digital containing full text historical newspapers from the tribes native to North America.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers.
Ebony Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Subjects: African American Studies
Description: Magazine archive from EBSCO containing full text articles from 1945-2014.
Contents:Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines
Jet Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Subjects: African American Studies
Description: Magazine archive from EBSCO containing full text articles from 1951-2014.
Contents:Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines
Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010) This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: Newspaper collection from ProQuest containing full text of the oldest and largest black newspaper in the western United States and the largest African-American owned newspaper in the U.S.. Includes materials from 1934-2005.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Primary Sources
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from ProQuest containing full text. Includes materials from 1980-present. Mainly focused on U.S. Provides access to the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers

Slavery and Anti-Slavery Databases

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new window
Subjects:African American Studies, History
Description: Primary source collection from Gale containing sources on slavery abolition, emancipation, and the slavery system in the U.S., the Caribbean, and Latin America.
Contents: Primary Sources

Theatre Databases

Shakespeare's Globe Archive This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: Primary source collection from Adam Matthew Digital.
Contents:Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; E-books; Primary Sources
Shakespeare Collection This link opens in a new window
Subjects: English
Description: Primary source collection from Gale Cengage Learning containing full text. Includes materials from 1600-present. Mainly focused on Great Britain. A broad collection of Shakespeare related resources ranging from digitized texts, e.g. the First Folio, to full plays to literary criticism.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Book Reviews; Primary Sources
Shakespeare in Performance This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: Primary source collection from Adam Matthew Digital featuring rare and unique prompt books from the Folger Shakespeare Library in Washington DC.
Contents:Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; E-books; Primary Sources
Theatre and Drama Online Premium This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Theatre Arts
Description: Streaming video collection from Alexander Street Press containing a variety of theatre-arts related materials highlighting all aspects of theatre and performance.
Contents: Streaming Video
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Theatre Arts, Film Television and Media Studies
Description: Streaming video collection from Alexander Street Press containing definitive performances of significant plays, documentaries and interviews. Includes materials from 1950-present.
Contents: Primary Sources; Streaming Video
Twentieth Century North American Drama This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Theatre Arts
Description: Primary source collection from Alexander Street Press containing full text. Includes materials from 1830s-present. Mainly focused on North America. Contains over 1,100 plays, together with detailed information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.
Contents: Primary Sources; ephemera such as playbills, flyers, etc.

African and African Diaspora Databases

African Diaspora, 1860-Present This link opens in a new window
Subjects: African American Studies, History, Political Science
Description:Primary source database relevant for exploring the migrations, communities, and ideologies of the people of African descent who have dispersed around the world, focusing on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France.
Contents:Primary Sources; Newspapers
African Writers Series This link opens in a new window
Subjects: English, Modern Languages, African American Studies
Description: E-book collection from ProQuest containing full text. Mainly focused on Primarily Western, Southern, and Eastern Africa.
Contents: E-books
Colonial Caribbean This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: Primary source collection from Adam Matthew Digital covering three centuries of Caribbean history.
Contents:Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; E-books; Primary Sources

Historical Databases

Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Native American, History, Chicana/o and Latina/o Studies, Humanities
Description: Primary source collection from Adam Matthew containing full text. Mainly focused on North America. Based on the Edward E. Ayer Collection at the Newberry Library, Chicago.
Contents: Primary Sources
American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971 This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Native American, History
Description: Research database from ProQuest containing primary source information on the interaction between American Indians, the U.S. government, and settlers from 1809 to 1971.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Primary Sources
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
Subjects: History, Political Science, Theological Studies
Description: Primary source collection from Adam Matthew containing full text. Includes materials from 1600-present charting the rise and fall of empires.
Contents: Primary Sources
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 This link opens in a new window
Subjects: History, African American Studies, Theological Studies
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing links to other information sources. Includes materials from 1493-1750.
Contents: Books; Bibliographies
Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange This link opens in a new window
Subjects: History, European Studies, Women's and Gender Studies
Description: Primary source collection from Adam Matthew containing full text about the study of global commodities in world history.
Contents: Primary Sources

Additional Research Databases

Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, 16th to 20th Century This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Chicana/o and Latina/o Studies
Description: Research database from Gale Cengage Learning. Mainly focused on Latin America and the Caribbean. Includes primary source documents; academic journals and news-feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Primary Sources; Streaming Video; Statistics / Datasets