LibGuides: International Business Research: Industry Information

Databases for Industry Information

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Business
Description: Research database from ProQuest containing full text.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Company Reports; Industry Reports
Passport by Euromonitor International This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Business, Economics
Description: Research database from Euromonitor containing global market information. Includes industry, economic, and consumer statistics and analysis by country.
Contents: Company Reports; Industry Reports; Statistics / Datasets; Consumer Reports; Country Reports
Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Business, Economics, and Political Science
Description: Data collection from Statista containing global data on market, industrial, and societal information.
Contents: Statistics / Datasets; Company Reports; Industry Reports; Consumer Reports
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Business, Economics, Entrepreneurship
Description: Research database containing a collection of industry market research and industry risk ratings on over 1300 U.S. industries.
Contents: Industry Reports; Industry Ratios; Market Share Reports

Online Resources for Industry Information

GlobalEdge at Michigan State University
University of Michigan's web-portal to a wealth of international business resources.
Foreign Trade Statistics
Search for import or export statistics, information on export regulations, commodity classifications, or a host of other trade related topics.
The International Monetary Fund (IMF)
The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators.
UN Comtrade
United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics. Annual international trade statistics, for over 130 countries, detailed by commodity and partner country to the United Nations.

What are NAICS codes?

NAICS is the North American Industrial Classification System:

NAICS 2017 Codes
Pronounced "nakes," NAICS codes are numbers that classify industries (i.e. business activities, like types of manufacturing and services).
NAICS codes are hierarchical -- the longer the number, the more detailed the industry. NAICS codes are up to six digits long.
NAICS is the modern version of the old SIC structure.
NAICS is more detailed than SIC, does a much better job of covering service and technology industries, and covers all three NAFTA economies.

Examples of NAICS codes:

51 Information
513 Broadcasting and telecommunications
5133 Telecommunications
51332 Wireless telecommunications carriers (except satellite)
513322 Cell phones and cell phone service

So what? NAICS make it easy to:

Find competitors and customers;
Find industry reports;
Benchmark finances (ex. financial ratios and the Economic Census);
Analyze trade data, employment trends, etc.