LibGuides: Accounting: Websites

General Accounting Websites

Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB)
Keep current with the latest FASB news. This site provides the full text of exposure drafts and other FASB document under consideration.
International Ethics Standards Board for Accountants (IESBA)
IESBA sets high-quality, internationally appropriate ethics standards for professional accountants, including auditor independence requirements.
Accounting Degree Today
All-inclusive directory for anyone interested in pursuing an accounting degree.
Masters in Accounting
Comprehensive resource for those interested in earning a master’s in accounting or master’s in finance.
Careers in Accounting.com
List of accounting industries with career overviews, strategies on how to become one (i.e., CPA), and salary information.
Job Board in Accounting.com
Aggregates open positions online, including entry-level to senior employment, jobs in the public and private sector and a range of general business and finance opportunities.

Accounting Associations

American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA)
The AICPA site includes Publications, links to other sites of interest to CPAs, lists of state boards and organizations, information on accounting careers, and on accounting education, news of interest to the profession, and much more.
American Accounting Association (AAA)
The AAA is concerned with accounting education, research and practice. There are some abstracts and full text of the AAA journals and other publications.
Institute of Management Accountants (IMA)
IMA is the worldwide association of accountants and financial professionals in business.
CalCPA
The CalCPA site includes news stories, accountant career and education information, job announcements, and more of interest to the profession in California.

Accounting Certification

Accounting certifications are credentials that accounting professionals use to enhance their careers and grow their skill sets. The most popular accounting certifications are certified public accountant (CPA), certified financial analyst (CFA), certified management accountant (CMA), enrolled agent (EA), and chartered global management accountant (CGMA).

CPA Certification - AICPA
The American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA) provides exam overview, requirements, costs, and schedule.
CFA Certification - CFA Institute
The CFA Institute provides program overview, requirements, costs, and schedule.
CMA Certification - IMA
The Institute of Management Accountants (IMA) provides exam overview, requirements, costs, and schedule.
Enrolled Agent - IRS
The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) outlines the steps to becoming an enrolled agent.
CGMA Certification - CGMA
The Chartered Global Management Accountant (CGMA) provides designation overview, resources, and costs.

Auditing Associations

Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA) - North America
The Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA) is an international professional association for internal auditors.
Association of Certified Fraud Examiners (ACFE)
The ACFE is the world's largest anti-fraud organization and premier provider of anti-fraud training and education.
Public Company Accounting Oversight Board (PCAOB)
The PCAOB is a nonprofit corporation established by Congress to oversee the audits of public companies in order to protect investors and further the public interest in the preparation of accurate and independent audit reports.
California Auditing Associations & Agencies
List of auditing associations and agencies in California.

Auditing Certification

Auditing certifications are credentials that auditing professionals use to enhance their careers and grow their skill sets. The most popular certifications are certified internal auditor (CIA), certified financial services auditor (CFSA), and certified fraud examiner (CFE).

CIA Certification - IIA
The Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA) provides exam overview, requirements, costs, and schedule.
CFSA Certification - IIA
The Institute of Internal Auditors (IAA) provides exam overview, requirements, costs, and schedule.
CFE Certification - ACFE
The Association of Certified Fraud Examiners provides the steps to become a CFE.

Taxes (California)

California Tax Service Center
Provides a one-stop shop for tax assistance, including information about income tax, payroll tax, sales & use tax, and other taxes and fees for businesses.
California Board of Equalization (BOE)
The BOE is responsible for reviewing, equalizing, or adjusting property tax assessments, assessing taxes on insurers, and assessing/collecting excise taxes on alcoholic beverages. Includes "Business Filing Information".
California Department of Tax and Fee Administration (CDTFA)
The CDTFA administers more than 30 tax and fee programs that generate revenue essential to our state, including sales and use taxes.
California Employment Development Department (EDD)
Responsible for the regulation of securities, franchises, off-exchange commodities, investment and financial services, independent escrows, consumer and commercial finance lending, and residential mortgage lending.
California Franchise Tax Board (FTB)
The FTB administers personal and corporate income and franchise taxes for the State of California.
California State Controller's Office
The Tax Information section provides: property tax, estate tax, and gasoline tax information.

Taxes (United States)

Internal Revenue Service - Tax Information for Business
Tax information, tools, and resources for businesses and self- employed.
Small Business Tax Information
USA.gov provides information on business taxes and incentives.