Library-licensed materials are materials that the library purchases or subscribes to, such as e-books, streaming media, and scholarly articles, that are freely accessible for current LMU students. While licensed materials are free for students, they are not open. We recommend you review the terms of access before assigning. If you are unsure, please consult with your librarian liaison!
The library has access to books available online for unlimited simultaneous users, which makes them ideal for integrating into your courses. You can find individual titles by searching in the library catalog. If the e-book you are looking for is not available, let us know by filling out the request form below.
E-book Licensing
As you search, please pay attention to the e-book license details stated under "Full Text Availability". E-books usually have a one-user, three-user, or unlimited user license. A one-user and three-user license can be suitable for individual research, but are not recommended for course adoption since it is very frustrating for students who are all trying to access the e-book simultaneously. If you are ever unsure of a license or would like to check for a license upgrade, please contact your librarian liaison.
The library has access to educational, documentary, and popular videos available in streaming format for unlimited simultaneous users, which makes them ideal for integrating into your courses. You can find individual titles by searching in the library catalog, or you can browse individual media collections. Like e-books, if we don't have something that you need in our collections, let us know by filling out the request form below.
Resources from LMU Library's Digital Collections, including scholarship hosted in Digital Commons and digitized primary sources from our library collections are also excellent candidates for course resources. (And don't forget about the wealth of other digitized primary sources available from libraries and museums around the world.)
The list below provides well-known OER repositories. Although you may find duplicate results, each is also likely to have a particular focus with unique items available for you to reuse, revise, and remix as you need for your courses.
Can't find what you're looking for? Librarians are experts in finding and evaluating resources, including OER. The library has copyright / author rights experts and librarians with subject expertise who can help you navigate this new and growing area. Get in touch with your librarian liaison to get started, or contact Nataly Blas, Collection Development Librarian.
The following resource guides created by experts at other libraries have useful collections of discipline-specific OER.
