LibGuides: MBAA 6061: Global Strategic Management: Welcome!

Welcome MBAA 6061

This library guide supports students enrolled in MBAA 6061: Global Strategic Management by connecting them to key library resources for analyzing global business environments and developing effective strategic plans. It provides access to essential databases, industry and company analysis tools, scholarly journals, and e-books that align with course topics such as competitive strategy, corporate and global strategy, and strategy implementation. Use this guide to discover reliable research materials, explore case studies, and strengthen your analytical framework for the capstone project and other course assignments.

Databases Used in Today's Presentation

Sage Business Foundation
Sage Business Foundations covers key and emerging theories and expert viewpoints in business from a diverse, global authorship to help users gain theoretical knowledge and learn to think critically about and appropriately apply concepts in everyday settings. Content is broken out into two categories "Theory" and "Theory in Practice" and materials include the highest-enrollment courses in the business school, with subjects ranging from leadership, entrepreneurship, economics, operations and supply chain management, business analytics, and more.

Business Source Complete

Subjects: Business
Description: More than 4,300 business periodicals (3,200 full text) covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals as far back as 1886.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles
ABI/INFORM Collection

Subjects: Business
Description: Research database from ProQuest containing full text.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Company Reports; Industry Reports
Business: Insights

Subjects: Business
Description: Research and compare companies and industries using industry rankings, company profiles, market share data, investment reports, charts, and graphs.
Contents: Trade/Professional Articles; Company Reports; Financials; Industry Ratios; Industry Reports
IBISWorld

Subjects: Business, Economics, Entrepreneurship
Description: Research database containing a collection of industry market research and industry risk ratings on over 1300 U.S. industries.
Contents: Industry Reports; Industry Ratios; Market Share Reports
Statista
Subjects: Business, Economics, and Political Science
Description: Data collection from Statista containing global data on market, industrial, and societal information.
Contents: Statistics / Datasets; Company Reports; Industry Reports; Consumer Reports
Passport by Euromonitor International

Subjects: Business, Economics
Description: Research database from Euromonitor containing global market information. Includes industry, economic, and consumer statistics and analysis by country.
Contents: Company Reports; Industry Reports; Statistics / Datasets; Consumer Reports; Country Reports

Resources from Today's Presentation

Additional CBA Resources

Financial Times (Online)
CBA offers access to FT.com. Go to ft.com/lmu and use your LMU email address to create an account.
Capital IQ
CBA offers access to S&P’s Capital IQ, provider of financial research, ratings, and market indices. If you already have access, visit www.capitaliq.com to login. To gain access, please send an email request to support.ciq@spglobal.com making sure to include your full name, LMU email address, and expected graduation date.
Bloomberg.com
Bloomberg.com provides global perspective and market moving news, in all of the formats that today’s student craves (News Articles, Bloomberg TV, Bloomberg Originals, Podcast, and Radio) across any device. Bloomberg.com is the largest news room in the world with 2,700 journalist and 125 news bureaus across the globe. Our journalist interview top C-level executives, industry experts, and political leaders across a variety of sectors and countries so your students can learn more about the world around them at a moments notice. Track stock performance, subscribe to industry newsletters, or watch our latest news segments with the Bloomberg.com!

To create an account, go to "Sign in" and use your @lion.lmu.edu or @lmu.edu email address. Next, verify your email by entering the 8-digit code sent to your inbox. Set a password for your account & click “Confirm” to complete set-up. You can also download the Bloomberg app to your smart phone through the App Store or Google Play.
Bloomberg Terminals
CBA offers access to 12 Bloomberg Terminals located in the Finance Learning Lab in Hilton. Students also have the ability to become Bloomberg Market Concepts (BMC) certified. Three more Bloomberg terminals have been placed in the William H. Hannon Library on the second floor. These three terminals can be accessed during library operating hours.

Digital Magazines

Flipster

Subjects: Art, Business, Finance, History, Religion, Science, Technology, Sports, Political Science, Sports Science, Music, Entertainment, Film, Archeology
Description: Flipster is a digital magazine subscription platform for libraries that allows users to read magazines on their computers, tablets, or phones. This platform offers access to a variety of popular titles, such as Forbes, Time Magazine, Rolling Stones, Sports Illustrated, Bloomberg Businessweek and more.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles

New York Times Digital Edition

For years, the William H. Hannon Library has provided access to the New York Times through databases like U.S. Major Dailies, via ProQuest, and Nexis Uni; but these platforms are optimized for academic research rather than casual reading. We are proud to announce that we now additionally provide access to the consumer edition of the New York Times online, via nytimes.com, for current LMU students, faculty, and staff.

If you already set up access to NYTimes online (previously provided by ASLMU), then there is nothing you need to do. Your access should continue uninterrupted. If you are a new user, register at accessnyt.com. Once registered, faculty and staff have four years of full account access, after which they must re-authenticate. Students have access until Dec. 31 of the graduation year they choose.

Whether you’re writing a paper or planning for the weekend ahead, discover original, quality journalism that helps you understand the world – and make the most of every part of life.

Find More Newspaper Articles

US Major Dailies

Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from ProQuest containing full text. Includes materials from 1980-present. Mainly focused on U.S. Provides access to the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers
Nexis Uni

Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from LexisNexis containing full text from news, business, and legal sources.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Trade/Professional Articles

Find Company Financial Information

Mergent Market Atlas
Subjects: Business
Description: Research database containing company, industry, and executive information. Includes materials from the last 10 years.
Contents: Company Reports; Financials; Industry Ratios; Industry Reports; Executives Directory; Company ESG Ratings
Morningstar Investment Research Center

Subjects: Business, Accounting, Finance
Description: Research database containing data, research, and analyst reports on company financials, mutual funds, stocks, and exchange-traded funds.
Contents: Company Reports; Financials; Industry Ratios; Stock & Fund Analyst Reports

MBAA 6061: Global Strategic Management

Business Librarian

Chat with us!