This library guide will assist you in locating and evaluating sources for your BCOR 3860: International Business course. Many of the resources on this guide will support you with your 1st exercise team project: Exploring International Market Strategy Alternatives: Australia vs. China.
"You have a range of products or services selling successfully in your home market. You have created a service that, in its design and execution, is unique to your company. Inevitably, you are tempted to assume that your products and services will sell abroad in their current format, you want to exploit any new opportunities without aggravation. You understand that everybody eats to gain energy for the day, works through the day to sustain their families, and sleeps to recharge their human batteries for the next day. So, surely, everybody everywhere looks for the same products, experiences, and lifestyle.
The world is currently comprised of some 195 countries speaking over 7,000 languages, of which 23 are spoken by more than half of the world’s population. There are more than 200 commonly identified ethnic groups and around 20 major religions. Add to these the consideration of diverse habitat, climate, and terrain and the notion of gender, which is no longer restricted to male and female, if you include sexual orientation and age groups, you end up with an almost infinite mix of needs, customs, habits, and behaviors.
It is also well established that the impulse to buy generally comes from one or more of three fundamental triggers: how your products and services will save money for your customers, or make their lives easier, or make them feel better (Houlier and Blaskey, 2020)."
References:
Houlier, L. and Blaskey, J. (2020) Products and services: Adapting for Export Markets. In L. Houlier and J. Blaskey, Exporting: Key considerations for international business growth (pp. 22-33). Business Expert Press.
Subjects: Business
Description: Research database from Gale Cengage Learning containing full text. Mainly focused on the U.S. for industry profiles and international focus for company reports.
Contents: Trade/Professional Articles; Company Reports; Industry Reports; SWOT Analysis; Case Studies; Market Share Reports
This link opens in a new windowSubjects: Business, Economics, and Political Science
Description: Data collection from Statista containing global data on market, industrial, and societal information.
Contents: Statistics / Datasets; Company Reports; Industry Reports; Consumer Reports
Subjects: MANY
Description: Data collection containing U.S. Census and EASI data. A web-based mapping application that allows users to create interactive maps, charts, and reports using 100,000+ data variables.
Contents: Statistics / Datasets; Statistics - U.S. Census
Subjects: Business, Economics
Description: Research database from Euromonitor containing global market information. Includes industry, economic, and consumer statistics and analysis by country.
Contents: Company Reports; Industry Reports; Statistics / Datasets; Consumer Reports; Country Reports
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from LexisNexis containing full text from news, business, and legal sources.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Trade/Professional Articles
Subjects: MANY
Description: General web search engine of scholarly literature. Google Scholar is a free search engine, so you must configure your Google Scholar Settings to access LMU materials off campus.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Books; Book Reviews; Conference Proceedings
For years, the William H. Hannon Library has provided access to the New York Times through databases like U.S. Major Dailies, via ProQuest, and Nexis Uni; but these platforms are optimized for academic research rather than casual reading. We are proud to announce that we now additionally provide access to the consumer edition of the New York Times online, via nytimes.com, for current LMU students, faculty, and staff.
If you already set up access to NYTimes online (previously provided by ASLMU), then there is nothing you need to do. Your access should continue uninterrupted. If you are a new user, register at accessnyt.com. Once registered, faculty and staff have four years of full account access, after which they must re-authenticate. Students have access until Dec. 31 of the graduation year they choose.
Whether you’re writing a paper or planning for the weekend ahead, discover original, quality journalism that helps you understand the world – and make the most of every part of life.