In Archives and Special Collections, there are different types of sources that require proper citations for research assignments and/or publications.
Some examples of how to cite our collection materials in APA, MLA, and Chicago Style are provided below. Be sure to consult specific style manuals as appropriate.
Format:
Author Last, A. A. (Year, Month Day). [Item Description]. Collection Name (Collection number, Series number, Box number, Folder number). Institution, Location.
Example:
Barmore, A. G., & Black, J. D. (1925, February 24). [Letter from A. G. Barmore and J. D. Black to J. M. Inman]. J. D. Black Papers, CSLA-15 (Series 1, Box 8, Folder 1). Department of Archives and Special Collections, William H. Hannon Library, Loyola Marymount University, Los Angeles, CA.
Footnote Format:
Author First and Last, Item description, Date, Series number, Box number, Folder number, Collection Name, Institution, Location.
Example:
A. G. Barmore and J. D. Black, Letter from A. G. Barmore and J. D. Black to J. M. Inman, February 24, 1925, Series 1, Box 8, Folder 1, J. D. Black Papers, CSLA-15, Department of Archives and Special Collections, William H. Hannon Library, Loyola Marymount University, Los Angeles, CA.
Bibliography Format:
Collection Name. Institution, Location.
Example:
J. D. Black Papers. Department of Archives and Special Collections, William H. Hannon Library, Loyola Marymount University, Los Angeles, CA.
Format:
Author Last, First. Item Description. Day Month Year. Series number, Box number, Folder number. Collection name. Institution, Location.
Example:
Barmore, A. G. and J. D. Black. Letter from A. G. Barmore and J. D. Black to J. M. Inman. 24 February 1925. Series 1, Box 8, Folder 1. J. D. Black Papers, CSLA-15. Department of Archives and Special Collections, William H. Hannon Library, Loyola Marymount University, Los Angeles, CA.
Format:
Author Last, A. A. (Year, Month Day). Title. [Description of material]. Collection Name (Box Number). Institution, Location.
Example:
Avalon and bay, Catalina Island. (circa 1911). [Postcard]. Werner von Boltenstern Postcard Collection (Box S-37). Department of Archives and Special Collections, William H. Hannon Library, Loyola Marymount University, Los Angeles, CA.
Format:
Author/photographer/artist, Item description, Date, Box number, Collection name, Name of repository, Location.
Example:
A Street Scene at Venice, Cal., postcard, circa 1911, Box V-4, Werner von Boltenstern Postcard Collection, Department of Archives and Special Collections, William H. Hannon Library, Loyola Marymount University, Los Angeles, CA.
Format:
Author/photographer/artist. Item description. Date. Box number. Collection name. Name of repository, Location.
Example:
Mahan, Max. "Glacier Lodge, Big Pine Canyon, California." Postcard. circa 1950-1960. Box B-21. Werner von Boltenstern Postcard Collection. Department of Archives and Special Collections, William H. Hannon Library, Loyola Marymount University, Los Angeles, CA.
Format:
Creator (Date). [Item Description]. Collection Name (Collection number, Series number, Box number, Folder number). Department of Archives and Special Collections, William H. Hannon Library, Loyola Marymount University, Los Angeles, CA.
Footnote Format:
Creator, Item description, Date, Series number, Box number, Folder number, Collection Name, Department of Archives and Special Collections, William H. Hannon Library, Loyola Marymount University, Los Angeles, CA.
Bibliography Format:
Collection Name. Department of Archives and Special Collections, William H. Hannon Library, Loyola Marymount University, Los Angeles, CA.
Format:
Creator. Item Description. Day of creation. Series number, Box number, Folder number. Collection name. Department of Archives and Special Collections, William H. Hannon Library, Loyola Marymount University, Los Angeles, CA.