LibGuides: Native American Library Guide: Primary Sources

The Great American Mosaic by Emily Moberg Robinson (Editor); Lionel C. Bascom (Editor); James E. Seelye (Editor); Guadalupe Compeán (Editor); Gary Y. Okihiro (Editor)
Primary sources are often published in book format, both by themselves and in collections like this one. Check out the Primary Sources library guide for more info on how to find them in the library.

Native Archives and Repositories

State-by-state list of local archives
Bases at the Family Search wiki, this list provides links to Native American Archives throughout the U.S.
Resource Database Center, National Native American Boarding School Healing Coalition
The Digital Archive contains historical documents. It includes documents found in historical societies across the United States, libraries, state archives, the National Archive and Record Administration (NARA), universities, colleges, schools, personally held items, and other resources.

Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America
Subjects: Native American, History, Chicana/o and Latina/o Studies, Humanities
Description: Primary source collection from Adam Matthew containing full text. Mainly focused on North America. Based on the Edward E. Ayer Collection at the Newberry Library, Chicago.
Contents: Primary Sources
Indigenous Newspapers in North America
Subjects:Native American
Description: Newspaper collection from Adam Matthew Digital containing full text historical newspapers from the tribes native to North America.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers.
The American West
Subjects: History, African American Studies, Chicana/o and Latina/o Studies
Description: Primary source collection from Adam Matthew containing full text. Mainly focused on the United States, Mexico, and Canada. Sources from the Everett D. Graff Collection at the Newberry Library, Chicago.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Primary Sources
Ethnomusicology: Global Field Recordings
Subjects: MANY
Description: Primary source collection from Adam Matthew containing full text. Focused on content across the globe, including sites in West Africa, North America, and South East Asia.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Primary Sources; Streaming Audio

LMU Primary Sources Complete List
View the complete list of primary source databases to which LMU has purchased or subscribed.