LibGuides: Television History: Databases (Articles)

Most Often Used Database for Television Studies

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Film Television and Media Studies, Film and Television Production, Screenwriting
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Book Reviews

General Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes materials from 1887-present.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Book Reviews
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General online archive from ProQuest containing full text.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Subjects: History, African American Studies, Journalism
Description: Primary source collection from ProQuest containing full text. Includes materials from 1850-1994. Mainly focused on United States. This resource includes archives for the American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger, Los Angeles Sentinel, Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, San Francisco Chronicle, Chicago Defender, New York Amsterdam News, and Times of India.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Primary Sources
Research Library This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from ProQuest containing full text. It covers over 150 subjects and topics.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Industry Reports

Subject Specific Databases

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Subjects: History, African American Studies, Asian and Pacific Studies, Catholic Studies, Jewish Studies
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes materials from 1964-present. Mainly focused on the United States and Canada.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Book Reviews
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Communication Studies, Film Television and Media Studies
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Book Reviews
Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes materials from 1984-present. Humanities articles, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines
Pop Culture Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Film Television and Media Studies, art history, history
Description: Article database from Gale, contains scholarly journals and magazines that analyze and contribute to popular culture. The database offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, and the arts.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles -Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Book Reviews
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes materials from 1972-present. Provides access to a wide assortment of English-language journals in the social sciences with detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Trade/Professional Articles
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive 2: Film and Television includes 10 titles and around 1.1M pages of material from key publications like Variety (1905-2000), Boxoffice (1920-2000) and Broadcast (1960-2000). Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive: Film and Television (Part 2) includes 12 titles and approximately 1 M pages of material from key publications like The Hollywood Reporter (1930-2015), American Cinematographer (1920-2015) and Kine Weekly (1907-1971).
Broadcasting America: The Rise of Mass Media and Communication This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Communication Studies, Film & Television, History
Description: Discover how the expansion of radio and television technology, and the rise of mass media empires, accelerated America's transformation into a consumer-based society through the lens of pioneer David Sarnoff, President of the Radio Corporation of America (RCA), and other industry papers.
Contents: Industry Reports; Primary Sources; Streaming Video

Looking for a Specific Journal or Periodical?

List of online and print journal holdings in Television & Radio

Not available at LMU?

Request articles that LMU does not own via our Document Delivery Service. Delivery time is 5-7 days.