Use Subject Headings you know (these must be exact!)
If subject is a name, last name first.
ATLA produces this publically available site, which indexes and abstracts projects and theses from over 100 Doctor of Ministry (DMin), Doctor of Missiology (DMiss) and Doctor of Educational Ministry (DEdMin) programs accredited by the Association of Theological Schools (ATS).
LINUS is the catalog for all the Library's book and media collections. Use Title or Author searches to find books, E-books, videos, and other materials that you know exist. Use Keyword or Subject searches (see boxes on the left) to look for books and other materials on a general or specific topic.
The Library subscribes to a good number of e-books. Besides the electronic Reference materials listed on the Getting Started page, we subscribe to monographs (single books) and anthologies (collections of essays) supplied by outside vendors. The majority of these books come from ebrary, with a lesser number coming from other vendors.
All e-books are cataloged in LINUS, searchable by author, title, subject and keyword. They will be described as "electronic resource". You can just click on the link in LINUS to get the contents of the book. You'll need your MyLMU information.
With many e-books, you can use the table of contents and the index, just as you would for narrowing your search in a print book. Often, the chapter in the table of contents or the page number in the index are links that will take you directly to the chapter or page indicated. If not, you can copy the page number into the "go to" box and go directly there.
Investigate registering for a personal account in these softwares. In ebrary, for example, you can highlight a passage, or create a note for that page; in either case, the software stores the page in your own little library 'bookshelf', so you can get back to that passage or page later, just by clicking on the excerpt in your personal 'bookshelf'. You can create folders for different topics/classes/papers, and just get back to the books you've used with a click.
This growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. There are more than 121,000 eBooks in this package, including titles from leading university presses .
Besides the usual searches (title, author, subject, etc.), a keyword search will search for the term within the full-text of books, and show a list of short excerpts from the pages where the term appears. You can then click on a link to that page.
Example: A subject search for Christology showed 123 hits; Christology as a keyword found over 300. One of the books on Karl Rahner displayed three 'most relevant' pages with the word Christology repeated several times, with a link to each page. Below was the table of contents for the book, each chapter title a link.
Explore and have fun!
is a catalog of over 40 academic and public libraries throughout California and Nevada. All LMU students, staff, and faculty, can self-request books from LINK+ libraries online. (You''ll need your MyLMU name and password (or your OneCard name and Library/barcode number.)
Make a good guess and search by Keyword. You can narrow down too many results by combining your first word or phrase with another word or phrase with AND as the connector. You can use OR to get either result. You can truncate with an asterisk *to get words beginning with what goes before the *.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
This database contains over 90% of North American doctoral dissertations and a smaller percentage of theses in the humanities and social sciences. Includes full text of dissertations and theses published 1997-present, and abstracts for earlier years. Dissertation authors sometimes withhold permission for inclusion, which explains many of that 10% not in this database -- especially if the dissertation is going to be re-edited and republished as a book.
Google Books includes scans of complete titles not under copyright, and selected pages from many other books offered by some major academic libraries. Sometimes it will only show you one section of a book -- the very section you wanted via your search! But sometimes nothing but the cover.