Get Help
Skip to Main Content

SCPT Conference: Creation, Creatureliness, and Creativity: The Human Place in the Natural World: Additional Resources

A guide to the people and topics of the April 20-22 Continental Philosophy and Theology Conference. Student resources for relevant ecological topics are included.

Resources for Learning

Here are some resources that provide information on topics relevant to the themes of this conference.

Getting Started - Reference Works

Use these online clusters, encyclopedias and dictionaries to give you definitions, critical terms, overviews, and further references.


Some relevant Web Sites

Indexing Databases

Note that the asterisked databases have print versions in Basement Storage; however, many of the paper subscriptions are not updated. Paper indexes are maintained in the Information Commons only for retrospective volumes not covered by the online product.

*The Philosopher's Index (1940+ ) LMU only
Indexing and abstracts from over 300 journals of philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields; also indexes philosophy books and contributions to anthologies.

*Humanities Full Text LMU only  
Indexes over 460 periodicals in the humanities, including philosophy, from 1984 to the present.
From 1994 on, may include abstracts.

ProQuest Research Library - Humanities Module LMU only
Indexes journals and magazines; some with Full-Text.

*ATLA/ATLASerials LMU only
All aspects of world religions, including philosophical topics. Index to over 1000 periodicals; also indexes multi-author books and book reviews.  ATLAS serials and some EBSCO titles are full-text. Use the 'find full-text' button to check our holdings.

*Historical Abstracts LMU only 
*America: History and Life LMU only

These databases provide good coverage of focused scholarly articles in history.   HA covers the world since C.E.1450.    AHL covers aspects of U.S. and Canadian history and pre-history.

Web of Science LMU only

Web of Science consists of three citation databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals, books, book series, reports, conferences, and more. These databases contain the references cited by the authors of the articles. You can use these references to do cited reference searching. (This type of search allows you to find articles that cite a previously published work.) Web of Science includes Social Sciences Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

 

*L'Année Philologique LMU only
Annual comprehensive bibliography of classical studies covering prehistory to C.E. 400. Indexes about a thousand publications; covered articles, book reviews, festschriften and papers are in various Western languages. Organized by subject (in French); content includes philosophy, language, literature, history and more. Online covers 1924 onwards.



Consult LMU's Journal List to determine if the Library has the journals you need online, or in paper or microfilm. You can get articles via our Document Delivery Service without charge. Ask at Reference.


 

And now, a word from our sponsor ...

A relevant essay by Brian Treanor, the LMU host of this conference  (he didn't tell me to do this!)

Get Research Help!

  • Face-to-face help is available at the information desk. Stop by during our information desk hours.
  • Call us on the phone at 310.338.2790
  • E-mail your favorite Reference librarian
  • Contact us via chat or text us at (424) 570-3228
  • Make an appointment with an individual librarian.
  • Get assistance 24/7 via Virtual Reference!

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Tony Amodeo
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact:
I'm retired, but my e-mail is active, and I do read my messages..

For reference help, please contact my very able successor at
Desirae.Zingarelli-Sweet@lmu.edu
Or phone her at 310 338-7681
Thanks!