These resources help a researcher three ways: First, background knowledge sets a topic in context, and gives names, dates, subtopics, etc. Second, a more focused vocabulary (with terms defined) for more precise computer searches. Third, listing pertinent articles and books to consult.
The lists are examples of online materials available at the William H. Hannon Library that you can use. Use your MyLMU login name and password to get into online resources with paid subscriptions.
Need help? Send any Reference librarian an e-mail or chat via our Get Help service. Or just drop by the Information Desk on the first floor of the Hannon Library.
Here are some examples of the Reference tools available to you in the Information Commons Reference shelves. Come to the Information Desk for help finding the information you need. See the box below for some of our electronic Reference works.
Credo Reference is a multidisciplinary collection of hundreds of reference titles, including subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, illustrated guides and biographies. Content is searchable by keyword or topic, and includes hyperlinked cross-references to related articles from other titles in the collection.
Subjects: MANY
Description: General e-book collection from Gale Cengage Learning containing full text.
Contents: eBooks; Encyclopedias.
Subjects: MANY
Description: General encyclopedia containing full text.
Contents: E-books; Encyclopedias
Subjects: MANY
Description: General e-book collection containing full text. Focuses on Humanities, Social Sciences, and Business disciplines.
Contents: Book Chapters; E-books
