Our Department of Archives & Special Collections has a nice collection of Dante editions. You can identify all of the Special Collections editions of Dante by searching Dante Alighieri in LINUS as author, and then using the "Limit/Sort" button to choose "Special Collections" as a location.
You can see any of these special resources by making an appointment for a weekday between 8am-5pm. 310 338-5710 or Special.Collections@lmu.edu
Copperplate engraving after a design by Botticelli.
Dante Alighieri. La Divina Commedia
[with commentary by Christophoro Landino].
Florence: Nicholo di Lorenzo, August 30, 1481.
From the Helena and John Weadcock Collection
Gift of T. Marie Chilton
Archives & Special Collections, LMU Library
The Hannon Library's copy of this early and beautiful printed book is located in the Department of Archives and Special Collections, part of the Dante collection. It is the Library's incunabulum -- from the 'cradle of printing' period, i.e., the approximately first fifty years after Gutenberg's Bible. (A&SC also has a page of that ca. 1454 Bible, which you can see there as well!)
Illustration by Gustave Doré
The Divine Comedy, Complete: The Vision of Paradise, Purgatory and Hell.
Translator: Rev. H. F. Cary
Chicago: Thompson & Thomas, 1901
Illustration in the public domain, from
Project Gutenberg
Dante's Divine Comedy (Inferno, Purgatorio, Paradiso)
by
In recent years, this three volume set has been the most popular illustrated modern translation of Dante in our Special Collections.