LibGuides: Dante: Databases (Articles)

JSTOR Religion

JSTOR is an archive of past articles from many academic journals, supported by a consortium of libraries. This is a list of JSTOR's journal holdings in religion, but you can also search history, social sciences and a host of other subject areas. Not the latest issues, but a selection of good journals with a lot of timeless articles.

JSTOR - Religion

Not available at LMU?

Request articles that LMU does not own via your ILLiad account. If supplied by an ILLiad partner, delivery time (via e-mail) is 3-5 working days. If if has to be photocopied and mailed, it will take longer. For more information, see the DDS LibGuide.

Some Relevant Databases

International Medieval Bibliography

Subjects: History, European Studies, Art History, English
Description: Research database containing links to other information sources. Mainly focused on Europe during 400-1500.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Books
Philosopher's Index
Professional index to philosophy and related topics.
Religion Database
This index covers a mix of religion magazines and journals, including Catholic magazines like America and Catholic journals like Catholic Biblical Quarterly. Many articles are full-text.
MLA International Bibliography
L'Année Philologique

Subjects: Classics and Archaeology, History, Theological Studies
Description: Research database from Brepols Publishing containing links to other information sources. Includes materials from 1928-3 years ago. Mainly focused on ancient Greece, Rome, related parts of the Mediterranean region, and the Ancient Near East.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Books; Book Chapters; Book Reviews
Historical Abstracts
Covers history of the world (except for Canada and the U.S.A.) beginning at 1450 C.E. Thus, more for searching the legacy of Dante than of Dante himself; but worth trying.
New Testament Abstracts

Subjects: Theological Studies, Biblical studies
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing links to other information sources.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Books; Book Reviews
Old Testament Abstracts
Online version. Indexes scholarly articles on the Hebrew Testament, and provides summaries.

Dante's House

Casa di Dante, Florence

Photo: Sailko, Wikipedia Commons

Featured Resource

This is an anthology of literary criticism, culling articles and chapters in books, on individual writers and genres. The articles are in historical order, and, after the first large collection on a topic, further articles and chapters will appear in later volumes of this set. You can consult the online version contained in Literature Criticism Online or latest paper volume's index to find in which volumes there are articles on Dante and other subjects. Then, read the selected texts, either online or, if uncomfortable with controlling your page-turning, consult the physical volumes.