LibGuides: Economics: Data & Statistics

Statistics Databases

LMU subscribes to the following databases that contain high-quality statistics and datasets relevant to economics:

Macroeconomic & Other Social Sciences Data:

Historical Statistics of the United States
Subjects: MANY
Description: Data collection containing full text. Includes materials from 1790-2000.
Contents: Statistics / Datasets; Statistics - U.S. Census
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research

Subjects: Political Science, Sociology, Education, Health and Human Sciences
Description: Collection of raw data files throughout the social sciences, including voter opinion and behavior, census data, education statistics, public health datasets, and more. These are raw data files to download that can then be manipulated with statistical software, such as SPSS.
Contents: Statistics/Datasets
OECD iLibrary
Subjects: Economics, Business, Sociology
Description: Data collection from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development containing statistical databases, books, and periodicals published by OECD. Provides comparable statistics, economic, and social data by country.
Contents: E-books; Statistics / Datasets
Passport by Euromonitor International

Subjects: Business, Economics
Description: Research database from Euromonitor containing global market information. Includes industry, economic, and consumer statistics and analysis by country.
Contents: Company Reports; Industry Reports; Statistics / Datasets; Consumer Reports; Country Reports
RAND State Statistics
Subjects: MANY
Description: General data collection containing statistics and reports. Mainly focused on California and U.S. Published by RAND Corporation, data sets include population and demographics, environment, education, business and economics, income, labor force and employment, health care, government, and more.
Contents: Statistics / Datasets
Sage Data
Subjects: MANY
Description: General data collection from SAGE Publications containing full text.
Contents: Statistics / Datasets
SimplyAnalytics

Subjects: MANY
Description: Data collection containing U.S. Census and EASI data. A web-based mapping application that allows users to create interactive maps, charts, and reports using 100,000+ data variables.
Contents: Statistics / Datasets; Statistics - U.S. Census
Social Explorer

Subjects: MANY
Description: Research database from containing census and demographic datasets.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines
Statista
Subjects: Business, Economics, and Political Science
Description: Data collection from Statista containing global data on market, industrial, and societal information.
Contents: Statistics / Datasets; Company Reports; Industry Reports; Consumer Reports

Data from the Open Web

For more specialized data, ask a librarian or your instructor for guidance.

U.S.

Data.gov
Data.gov is the home of the U.S. Government’s open data. You can find Federal, state and local data, tools, and resources to conduct research, build apps, design data visualizations, and more.

The Data.gov team works at the U.S. General Services Administration, and data on the site are provided by hundreds of organizations, including Federal agencies.
American Fact Finder
U.S. Census Bureau's main interface. Extract, view, and download data.
U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis
BEA is an agency of the Department of Commerce. Along with the Census Bureau and STAT-USA, BEA is part of the Department's Economics and Statistics Administration.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.
USDA Economic Research Service
The ERS is a primary source of economic information and research in the U.S. Department of Agriculture.
FRED database (Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis)
Over 250,000 economic time series on topics like national accounts, interest rates, and measures of U.S. business activity from 80 sources, made available by the U.S. Federal Reserve.
Migration Policy Institute Data Hub
National and state-level demographic, social, and economic data about immigrants to the U.S., with some international data.

International:

International Monetary Fund Data
Time series on IMF member countries, lending, exchange rates, and other economic and financial indicators.
UNdata
Search across all the United Nations' available statistics by keyword, topic, and country.
World Bank Data
Free, downloadable data sets from the World Bank, covering topics ranging from international aid effectiveness to climate change.
Alpha Vantage Stock Market APIs
Programmatic access to US, Canada, UK, and other international financial and economic datasets, covering asset classes such as stocks, ETFs, currencies (forex), and cryptocurrencies. Both raw price data and derived quantitative signals are supported. Data access channels include web-based HTTP access, Excel, and other spreadsheet options such as Google Sheets.