LibGuides: World Religions Resources: Databases (Articles)

'Combination Tools'

These sources are content databases, including the full texts of reference tools, articles, essays, historical and theological background, etc.

Oxford Bible Studies Online

Oxford Islamic Studies Online

ATLA Database Online Tutorial: Sacred Texts

Here is an online tutorial for searching for articles, book chapters, etc. on the sacred texts of World Religions in the ATLA Religion Database, with an audio track.

Searching Subject Headings for Sacred Texts of World Religions

Not available at LMU?

Request articles that LMU does not own via your ILLiad account. If supplied by an ILLiad partner, delivery time (via e-mail) is 3-5 working days. If if has to be photocopied and mailed, it will take longer. For more information, see the DDS LibGuide.

Religion Databases

Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Theological Studies, Philosophy, Catholic Studies, Ethics
Description: Research database from ProQuest containing full text. Keyword searches search the entire text of articles and dissertations.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Dissertations
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Theological Studies, Philosophy, Classics and Archaeology, Catholic Studies, Ethics, Jewish Studies
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes materials from 1880s-present.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Books; Book Chapters; Book Reviews
Religious and Theological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Theological Studies, Philosophy, Catholic Studies,Ethics,Jewish Studies
Description: Research database containing links to other information sources. Includes materials from 1950-present. Mainly focused on North America, Europe, and the Middle East. Summaries of articles originally written in English, Hebrew, Afrikaans, and major European languages. Covers theology and religious studies, especially Biblical studies, Christianity, and Judaism.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles

Index Theologicus (IxTheo)
A free online theological index from the Universitätsbibliothek Tübingen, covering 600 journals, many of them European, some of them not covered by any other index. English or German language search page.

Index to Jewish Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Subjects: European Studies, History, Sociology, Jewish Studies
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing links to other information sources. Includes materials from Journal coverage dates back as far as 1988. This database provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 220 journals devoted to contemporary Jewish and Middle Eastern issues.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Book Reviews
Année Philologique This link opens in a new window
A specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. Its subjects are Greek and Latin literature and linguistics, including early Christian texts and patristics, Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly subspecialties such as numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy.

Roman Synagogue

View of the Synagogue of Rome from the Trastevere Bridge

photo: T Amodeo 2010