Finding background information at the beginning of your research is important if you are not an expert in the subject area or not sure from what angle to approach your topic. Background information can provide:
Spend a little time searching in the resources on this page and you'll be better prepared to find pertinent scholarly articles and write a convincing argument.
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from Gale Cengage Learning containing full text information about current science topics.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Primary Sources;
Subjects: Chemistry, Biochemistry, Physics
Description: Research database containing full text.
Contents: Book Chapters
This link opens in a new windowSubjects: Biology, Computer Science, Engineering, Physics
Description: Research database containing full text.
Contents: Encyclopedias; Biographies; eBooks.
This link opens in a new windowSubjects: MANY
Description: General e-book collection from Gale Cengage Learning containing full text.
Contents: eBooks; Encyclopedias.
A Dictionary of Astronomy by
The revised second edition of this established dictionary contains over 4,300 up-to-date entries covering all aspects of astronomy. Compiled with the help of over 20 expert contributors under the editorship of renowned author and broadcaster Ian Ridpath, A Dictionary of Astronomy coverseverything from space exploration and the equipment involved, to astrophysics, cosmology, and the concept of time. The dictionary also includes biographical entries on eminent astronomers, as well as worldwide coverage of observatories and telescopes. Supplementary material is included in theappendices, such as tables of Apollo lunar landing missions and the constellations, a table of planetary data, and numerous other tables and diagrams complement the entries.The entries have been fully revised and updated for this edition, and new entries have been added to reflect the recent developments within the field of astronomy, including magnetic reconnection, Fornax cluster, luminosity density, and Akatsuki. The content is enhanced by entry-level web links,which are listed and regularly updated on a companion website.A Dictionary of Astronomy is an invaluable reference source for students, professionals, amateur astronomers, and space enthusiasts.
A Dictionary of Physics by
Now with over 4,000 entries, this new eighth edition has been fully updated to reflect progress in physics and related fields. It sees expansion to the areas of cosmology, astrophysics, condensed matter, quantum technology, and nanotechnology, with 125 new entries including Deep Underground Neutrino Experiment, kilonova, leptoquark, and muscovium. The dictionary's range of appendices, updated for the new edition, includes the periodic table, the electromagnetic spectrum, and a detailed chronology of key dates. 15 new diagrams add to the clarity and accessibility of the text, with 150 line drawings, tables, and graphs in total, and many entries contain recommended web links.This popular dictionary remains the most up-to-date of its kind: the essential introductory reference tool for students encountering physics terms and concepts, as well as for professionals and anyone with an interest in the subject.
Dictionary of Material Science and High Energy Physics by
More than 3,000 terms with clear, working definitions, alternative meanings, and related references comprise this uniquely focused lexicon. Published in a convenient, paperback format, it covers chemical, energy, nuclear, plasma, condensed matter, and solid-state physics, fluid dynamics, quantum mechanics, quantum optics, thermodynamics, and materials science.
Dictionary of Pure and Applied Physics by
Clear, precise definitions of scientific terms are crucial to good scientific and technical writing-and to understanding the writings of others. Whether you are a physicist, engineer, mathematician, or technical writer, whether you work in a research, academic, or industrial setting, we all have the occasional need for comprehensible, working definitions of scientific terms. To meet that need, CRC Press proudly announces publication of the Dictionary of Pure and Applied Physics-the first published volume of CRC's Comprehensive Dictionary of Physics. Authored by eminent scientists from around the world, offers concise, authoritative definitions of more than 3,000 terms covering a range of pure and applied disciplines: acoustics biophysics communications electricity electronics geometrical optics low-temperature physics magnetism medical physics physical optics The editor has taken care to ensure each entry is as self-contained as possible, to include terms from the frontiers of technology, and to omit obsolete terms that can clutter a search. The result is a lucid, accessible, and convenient reference valuable to both the novice and the seasoned professional.
Encyclopedia of Modern Optics by
The Encyclopedia of Modern Optics, Second Edition, provides a wide-ranging overview of the field, comprising authoritative reference articles for undergraduate and postgraduate students and those researching outside their area of expertise. Topics covered include classical and quantum optics, lasers, optical fibers and optical fiber systems, optical materials and light-emitting diodes (LEDs). Articles cover all subfields of optical physics and engineering, such as electro-optical design of modulators and detectors. This update contains contributions from international experts who discuss topics such as nano-photonics and plasmonics, optical interconnects, photonic crystals and 2D materials, such as graphene or holy fibers. Other topics of note include solar energy, high efficiency LED's and their use in illumination, orbital angular momentum, quantum optics and information, metamaterials and transformation optics, high power fiber and UV fiber lasers, random lasers and bio-imaging.
Encyclopedia of Physics by
Physics is a challenging yet rewarding science for students in high school and college. A comprehensive one-volume encyclopedia of physics, Encyclopedia of Physics presents a broad overview of the field at a level and in a format suitable for students and general readers. Focused on pure physics - which deals with the most fundamental aspects of nature such as light, sound, movement, and force - its scope of coverage is wide and significant, including entries on concepts, terms, effects, laws, principles, theories, experiments, observations, people, institutions, organizations, issues, laboratories, and other subjects. Complementing the coverage of pure physics topics, concise, general entries discuss interdisciplinary subjects, such as applied physics, astrophysics, biophysics, chemical physics, geophysics, and medical physics. Biographical entries present personal profiles of important physicists, past and present, and list their accomplishments. Details about their achievements are presented in separate, cross-referenced entries. While the emphasis is on the present state of physics, the science's historical background and development are explained, as appropriate, to give perspective on current issues in physics. With more than 600 entries, 11 prose essays on particularly interesting topics in physics, and more than 180 black-and-white photographs and line illustrations, this is an ideal reference to this core area of science.
Encyclopedia of the Solar System by
Long before Galileo published his discoveries about Jupiter, lunar craters, and the Milky Way in the Starry Messenger in 1610, people were fascinated with the planets and stars around them. That interest continues today, and scientists are making new discoveries at an astounding rate. Ancient lake beds on Mars, robotic spacecraft missions, and new definitions of planets now dominate the news. How can you take it all in? Start with the new Encyclopedia of the Solar System, Second Edition. This self-contained reference follows the trail blazed by the bestselling first edition. It provides a framework for understanding the origin and evolution of the solar system, historical discoveries, and details about planetary bodies and how they interact--and has jumped light years ahead in terms of new information and visual impact. Offering more than 50% new material, the Encyclopedia includes the latest explorations and observations, hundreds of new color digital images and illustrations, and more than 1,000 pages. It stands alone as the definitive work in this field, and will serve as a modern messenger of scientific discovery and provide a look into the future of our solar system. · Forty-seven chapters from 75+ eminent authors review fundamental topics as well as new models, theories, and discussions · Each entry is detailed and scientifically rigorous, yet accessible to undergraduate students and amateur astronomers · More than 700 full-color digital images and diagrams from current space missions and observatories amplify the chapters · Thematic chapters provide up-to-date coverage, including a discussion on the new International Astronomical Union (IAU) vote on the definition of a planet · Information is easily accessible with numerous cross-references and a full glossary and index
Wiley Encyclopedia of Electrical and Electronics Engineering, Supplement 1 by
This first update volume to the Wiley Encyclopedia of Electrical and Electronics Engineering contains 57 articles which provide the latest developments in the field.