LibGuides: New Testament Research: Databases (Articles)

Full Text?

Databases can contain links to the text of the articles they index. If not:

Look for the "read online", "view online", or "link to full text" option. This may look different in different databases, but it's there in most every indexing database. If a recent year, we may have the item in print in the Library.

If you know the specific periodical title and year, consult LMU's Journal List (on the Library homepage) to determine if the Library owns the article you need. This List tells you if the journal is available in print or in one of our online databases.

Researching Parables ...

The Prodigal Son

Il Guercino, ca. 1619

Wikipedia Commons: Image in the public domain

To search this parable:

Search the exact Book, chapter, and verses (e.g. Luke 15: 11-32)

Find the specific Descriptor for it within the database

Search both elements for widest coverage:

e.g. Luke 15: 11-32 OR Prodigal Son

In ATLA, OTA and NTA, search both elements independently, by pericope title and, separately, using the Scripture Index or verses subject heading.

ATLA Database Online Tutorials

Here are three tutorials for searching for articles regarding Biblical texts in the ATLA Religion Database. They have closed captioning, so you can use them with or without the audio track.

Searching Scripture Citations Using the Scripture Citation Index
Searching Scripture Citations Using the Scriptures Tool
Searching Scripture-Related Content Using Textweek.com and EBSCOhost Permalinks
This tutorial looks at how to use the Text this Week website to search for scripture-related items in the ATLASerials® (ATLAS®) database. It also discusses how to access these items using the EBSCOhost permalinks that have been indexed on the site.

Databases for finding articles, chapters, etc. for New Testament research

LMU Only Feel free to ASK FOR HELP with these and other databases!

Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
This worldwide database covers all religions in over 1000 journals worldwide, plus reviews of books and book chapters. It is the index of choice for most religious scholars. Note: see box below for online tutorials for searching Scriptural reference articles in this database. Produced by the American Theological Library Association, the ATLA Religion Database covers religion worldwide, and includes more than 575,000 article citations from more than 1,679 journals, more than 239,000 essay citations from over 16,800 multi-author works, and more than 530,000 book review citations. Full text is provided for more than 294,000 electronic articles and book reviews.
New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Online version. Indexes scholarly articles on the New Testament, and provides summaries. By using the link to full text link, you may be able to connect to the full text of the article. New Testament Abstracts Online, a product of a partnership between ATLA and Boston College, is a research and bibliographic aid for scholars, librarians, clergy and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu. The database contains more than 44,000 article abstracts, over 1,600 review abstracts, book abstracts, and software abstracts. Each year an additional articles from more than 500 periodicals in numerous languages are selected for inclusion. In addition, approximately 900 current books are also summarized annually. Article coverage dates back to 1985.
Religion Database This link opens in a new window
This index covers a mix of religion magazines and journals. Many articles are full-text. ProQuest Religion indexes more than 150 magazines and journals, with most of them available in full-text. This database covers formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many worldwide religions. In addition, there are titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. More full-text journals have been added in areas related to religious studies, such as philosophy, ethics, and international perspectives.
Religious and Theological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Though you may have to search the Journal List to find the full text, the abstracts here make identifying the most useful articles a lot easier. This database provides summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of Religion and Theology. Lists a wide variety of periodical literature covering Christianity, Judaism, and other world religions. Provides English language abstracts of articles in English, Hebrew, Afrikaans, and major European languages.
Année Philologique This link opens in a new window
A specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. Its subjects are Greek and Latin literature and linguistics, including early Christian texts and patristics, Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly subspecialties such as numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy L’Année philologique, published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique, is a specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. Its subjects are Greek and Latin literature and linguistics, including early Christian texts and patristics, Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly subspecialties such as numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy. With over 810,000 records, L’Année philologique includes citations to journal articles and books, with abstracts in English, German, Spanish, French or Italian.

Off-Campus Access

When you are off the LMU campus and you click on a link from a subscribed library resource, you will get a screen asking you to check your status, and sign in with your MyLMU login and password. If you have difficulties connecting, please contact the Information Desk at (310) 338-2790.

Not available at LMU?

Request articles that LMU does not own via your ILLiad account. If supplied by an ILLiad partner, delivery time (via e-mail) is 3-5 working days. If if has to be photocopied and mailed, it will take longer. For more information, see the DDS LibGuide.

Evangelist

Ox, symbol of Luke

Piacenza Cathedral

TAmodeo 2011

Sample Journals for New Testament Studies

Here are some journals useful for New Testament Studies. Feel free to browse a few to see what's there, but remember that using the Indexes in the top box above will let you look for articles in these and other journals directly related to your topic, and is the way to go about research. Serendipity is fun, but ...

Catholic Biblical Quarterly
Harvard Theological Review
Interpretation
Journal of Chinese Military History
Journal for the Study of the Historical Jesus
Journal for the Study of the New Testament
Leading academic journal in New Testament Studies. Ebscohost
New Testament studies
more...less...
Beginning undergraduate level

New Testament Research: Databases (Articles)