LibGuides: ENGL 110: College Writing: 5. Databases

About Articles

"Articles" come from newspapers, magazines, or journals (collectively called periodicals)
Unlike some Web pages, an article is edited and checked for accuracy
Some periodicals are available in print, but they are often licensed for electronic format too
Articles are found by searching finding aids called article indexes
An index lets you search by keyword for articles on your research topic

LMU only

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes materials from 1887-present.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Book Reviews
Research Library This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from ProQuest containing full text. It covers over 150 subjects and topics.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Industry Reports
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from ProQuest containing full text. Includes materials from 1980-present. Mainly focused on U.S. Provides access to the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers

More Databases...
In addition to the databases listed here, LMU subscribes to many others.

Use this example to help you understand the citation elements of a journal article.
*journal titles are often abbreviated.