SDG1 - No Poverty by
For many decades the international community has endeavoured to eliminate extreme poverty; however, it is estimated that around 800 million people still live below the international poverty line of $1.90 a day. This book looks this global problem and presents applicable solutions to show that we can eliminate poverty today and meet the challenge of the UN Sustainable Development Goal 1. The first part of the book discusses what poverty and development are and asks whether the right to development is an international commitment to eradicate poverty. The second part looks at the strategy of the Sustainable Development Goals, and the concept of happiness for all people in the world. It examines the proposition of SDG1, evaluates the first actions taken in this area, and presents the best practice of recent SDG implementation. The final part considers several proposals and presents suggestions on how to make global action more effective. Concise Guides to the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals comprises 17 short books, each examining one of the UN Sustainable Development Goals. The series provides an integrated assessment of the SDGs from economic, legal, social, environmental and cultural perspectives.
Transforming urban food systems in secondary cities in Africa by
Countries across Africa are rapidly transitioning from rural to urban societies. The UN projects that 60% of people living in Africa will be in urban areas by 2050, with the urban population on the continent tripling over the next 50 years. The challenge of building inclusive and sustainable cities in the context of rapid urbanization is arguably the critical development issue of the 21st Century and creating food secure cities is key to promoting health, prosperity, equity, and ecological sustainability. The expansion of Africa's urban population is taking place largely in secondary cities: these are broadly defined as cities with fewer than half a million people that are not national political or economic centres.
Food insecurity in families with children : integrating research, practice, and policy by
This book synthesizes research about the effects of food insecurity on children, families, and households, emphasizing multiple pathways and variations across developmental contexts. It focuses on emerging new methods that allow for a more refined approach to practice and policy. The volume provides a brief overview of the topic, and additional empirical chapters pose and address unanswered research questions. It concludes with a short commentary, providing recommendations for future research and policy and yielding a significant and timely contribution to advance developmental scientific knowledge and promote its use to improve the lives of children and families
No Poverty by
The problems related to the process of industrialisation such as biodiversity depletion, climate change and a worsening of health and living conditions, especially but not only in developing countries, intensify. Therefore, there is an increasing need to search for integrated solutions to make development more sustainable. The United Nations has acknowledged the problem and approved the "2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development". On 1st January 2016, the 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) of the Agenda officially came into force. These goals cover the three dimensions of sustainable development: economic growth, social inclusion and environmental protection. The Encyclopedia of the UN Sustainable Development Goals comprehensively addresses the SDGs in an integrated way. It encompasses 17 volumes, each devoted to one of the 17 SDGs. This volume addresses SDG 1, namely "End poverty in all its forms everywhere" and contains the description of a range of terms, which allows for a better understanding and fosters knowledge about it. Concretely, the defined targets are: Eradicate extreme poverty for all people everywhere, currently measured as people living on less than $1.25 a day Reduce at least by half the proportion of men, women and children of all ages living in poverty in all its dimensions according to national definitions Implement nationally appropriate social protection systems and measures for all, including floors, and achieve substantial coverage of the poor and the vulnerable Ensure that all men and women, in particular the poor and the vulnerable, have equal rights to economic resources, as well as access to basic services, ownership and control over land and other forms of property, inheritance, natural resources, appropriate new technology and financial services, including microfinance Build the resilience of the poor and those in vulnerablesituations and reduce their exposure and vulnerability to climate-related extreme events and other economic, social and environmental shocks and disasters Ensure significant mobilization of resources from a variety of sources, including through enhanced development cooperation, in order to provide adequate and predictable means for developing countries, in particular least developed countries, to implement programmes and policies to end poverty in all its dimensions Create sound policy frameworks at the national, regional and international levels, based on pro-poor and gender-sensitive development strategies, to support accelerated investment in poverty eradication actions Editorial Board Sarah Ahmed, Bankole Osita Awuzie, Katarzyna Cichos, Fernanda Frankenberger, Usha Iyer-Raniga, Amanda Lange Salvia, Pinar Gökçin Özuyar, Kalterina Shulla, Ranjit Voola
The cost of living crisis : (and how to get out of it). by
We are living through a cost of living crisis, with interest rate hikes and the prices of everyday consumables and energy bills sky-rocketing. Why is this happening? Sometimes we are told that wages are too high, or that the government has printed too much money or that events far away, such as the war in Ukraine, are solely to blame. The plain argument that high prices go together with high profits, falling wages, and weak production is often distorted and hidden by mainstream commentary in the media and elsewhere.
Inflation : What It Is, Why It's Bad, and How to Fix It by
"Inflation explains the forces behind the epidemic of soaring prices squeezing individuals and businesses still struggling in the aftermath of the COVID pandemic. An alarming rise in the cost of living has stoked fears of a new crisis resembling the decade-long inflation of the 1970s.
Measuring the Effectiveness of Social Protection by
'Measuring the Effectiveness of Social Protection: Concepts and Applications' provides the conceptual and analytical framework for assessing social protection (SP) programs, as well as provides a practical guide for users seeking to conduct analysis, particularly using the World Bank's Software Platform for Automated Economic Analysis (ADePT). The manual provides a comprehensive unique resource to tie together social policy theory, concepts and practical analytical techniques.The book content is targeted at policymakers and practitioners worldwide seeking to improve the outcomes of their social protection policies. It suggests advanced methods and a new rapid analysis instrumental for technical experts working on quantitative SP analysis for their ministry, national statistics offices, think tanks, universities, or development organizations.The book aims to equip users with different statistical background and SP knowledge to independently conduct SP analysis and prepare a standardized set of tables and graphs to conduct different types of SP performance analysis, ranging from benchmarking SP performance within and across countries, simulating the performance of alternative reform options, and assessing the viability of proposed programs.
The Psychology of Poverty Alleviation by
In order to design, enact, and protect poverty alleviation policies in developing countries, we must first understand the psychology of how the poor react to their plight, and not just the psychology of the privileged called upon for sacrifice. This book integrates social and psycho-dynamic psychology, economics, policy design, and policy-process theory to explore ways to follow through on successful poverty-alleviation initiatives, while averting destructive conflict. Using eight case studies across Latin America, Southeast Asia, and South Asia, William Ascher examines successes and failures in helping the poor through affirmative action, cash transfers, social-spending targeting, subsidies, and regional development. In doing so, he demonstrates how social identities, attributions of deservingness, and perceptions of the policy process shape both the willingness to support pro-poor policies and the conflict that emerges over distributional issues.
Endangered and Transformative Childhood in Caribbean Small Island Developing States by 
Living and Working in Poverty in Latin America : Trajectories of Children, Youth, and Adults by
This edited volume studies the complex interrelation of poverty, work, and different stages in the life course, and how it contributes to the permanent existence of poverty and inequality in vulnerable groups in society. Mechanisms of productions and reproduction of these relationships are identified through empirical research carried out in four Latin American countries: Mexico, Argentina, Brazil, and Cuba.
Four Decades of Poverty Reduciton in China by
Over the past 40 years, the number of people in China with incomes below US$ 1.90 per day has fallen by close to 800 million. The report explores the key drivers for China?s achievements in poverty, considers lessons for other developing countries, and puts forward suggestions for China?s future policies.
Poverty and the World Order by
Robert Walker provides a critical examination of the promise and reality of SDG1, the United Nations' Social Development Goal designed, among other things, to eradicate extreme poverty by 2030. The author's message is stark: there is little chance of success. Although the need for a collective and coordinated response is clear, global and national systems of governance are currently incapable of an adequate response. While the critique is formidable, the book seeks to identify reforms necessary to meaningfully increase the likelihood of meeting SDG1's goals. These include reshaping international institutions so that they give greater voice to governments in the developing world, facilitating enhanced modes of participatory governance, and increasing democratic accountability at a global level. Evidence is drawn throughout from a systematic review of international best practice supplemented by more detailed strategic case-studies, including from China.
Entrepreneurship As a Route Out of Poverty by
This book examines how entrepreneurship can be used as a tool to escape poverty. With relevance for both SDG 1: 'No Poverty,' and SDG 8: 'Promote sustained, inclusive and sustainable economic growth, full and productive employment and decent work for all,' it pays special attention to women and minority ethnic groups. Offering a fresh perspective on entrepreneurship as a means of upward social mobility and rooted in research, the book explores the issue in three ways. Firstly, it pays special attention to the nexus between the entrepreneur, resources, institutions, opportunities, necessities, and the environment for drawing a comprehensive picture of how individuals could use entrepreneurship for successful upward social mobility in a changing world. Secondly, it emphasizes the peculiar challenges that female entrepreneurs face, how those challenges can be overcome, and how female entrepreneurship may be a route to women's socio-economic advancement. Thirdly, it highlights the challenges faced by ethnic minority business owners and how such ethnic minority businesses could thrive amid institutional voids as well as direct and indirect forms of discrimination. Based on the latest research from developed and developing countries, the book offers compelling insights for sustaining entrepreneurial ventures in an evolving world.
The End of Poverty by
In this book Edward and Sumner argue that to better understand the impact of global growth on poverty it is necessary to consider what happens across a wide range of poverty lines. Starting with the same datasets used to produce official estimates of global poverty, they create a model of global consumption that spans the entire world's population. They go on to demonstrate how their model can be utilised to understand how different poverty lines imply very different visions of how the global economy needs to work in order for poverty to be eradicated.
