Welcome back to the William H. Hannon Library! We hope that you visit us often. Part of LMU's mission is to foster devotion to intellectual and spiritual life and to send forth men and women for others, to lead and to serve. If you've embraced LMU's mission, then you embrace lifelong learning. Our library will be here to help you in that quest.
1. Help is always available.
Yes, always. College level research was challenging, but so is real life! But you have expert help available, both online and in person, no matter the hour. Our friendly and knowledgeable reference librarians are available by phone, email, or online chat! We also offer drop-in research assistance at the Information Desk during our service hours.
2. You need an Alumni OneCard. Go. Get. It. Now.
We don't know you, sorry! That's why we ask for identification. Please go the the OneCard Office and get your alumni card. We know that you love your OneCard photo from over 4 years ago, but that old card no longer works. You can't add money for printing, plus your lovely face has probably been swiped off. It's time to upgrade to the alumni OneCard!
3. We have millions of e-resources, available on-campus.
You still have access to a wealth of information and resources, but you are now limited to on-campus access. Yes, it's such a drag to be stuck in a beautiful award winning building with fantastic views--not that we are bragging (Best College Library #16, Princeton Review Guide)--but you do have to be here in person. Don't forget, parking is free Saturdays and Sundays. Information is not always free and our database licenses do not include remote access for alumni and visitors. While on-campus it's easy to access over 200 research databases, over 28,000 online journals, and over 100,000 e-books. Moreover, during the academic year, the library is open to alumni from 8am to 10pm Monday through Friday, 11am to 10pm on Saturday and Sunday.
4. Social butterfly or solo studier? We have spaces for both.
The library has 33 spacious study rooms designed for group collaboration. Each room has whiteboard walls, a large LCD screen with laptop connectivity, and we also have special presentation rooms, media viewing, and listening rooms. LMU Alumni may reserve group study rooms on a drop-in basis (but not in advance). Go to the Information Desk on the 1st floor and present your Alumni OneCard, and ask a staff member to reserve a room. We also have hundreds of individual carrels, comfortable chairs, and other furniture that you can use. Whatever your study style, we have it covered.
5. Need to print, copy, fax, or scan?
You can do all of this at the library! Just add flexi-dollars to your Alumni OneCard. Printing services are available in the library, and we can accommodate black and white (10 cents per side), color (25 cents per side), and double-sided printing (10 cents per side for duplex printing). The library also supports wireless printing for alumni using their laptops in the library. Copiers are located on the first and second floors of the library (10 cents each). As for scanning? Completely free! The scanner is located at the Information Desk on the first floor.
6. We have iMacs. Lots of them.
The library's Information Commons has 86 fully-loaded computers available on a first-come, first-served basis. Computers stations are available for both individual users and for group work. Alumni should go to the Information Desk to request a Guest Computer Login. (Bring your Alumni OneCard to register.) Additionally, wireless connectivity is available throughout the entire library.
7. Print is not dead!
LMU alumni are eligible for annual borrowing privileges at a discounted rate of $100 (available for purchase at the Circulation Desk). We have over 500,000 books in our library collection, including scholarly work, popular fiction, and children's literature. And we don't just have books... our media collection has over 60,000 items, including DVDs, CDs, videocassettes, Blu-ray, LPs, and microfilm. In our Department of Archives & Special Collections, you can get first-hand experience handling and using rare primary source materials for your research, or to just fulfill your curiosity. Medieval manuscript leaves? An I.O.U. printed and signed by Benjamin Franklin? A leaf from the Gutenberg Bible? Early 20th century photographs related to the Owens Valley / Los Angeles Aqueduct water wars? Yes, these are library materials too!
8. ATLA Religion Database
All alumni are eligible for free remote access to EBSCO's ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials. Password and login instructions will be issued upon request.
9. No shushing here.
The library is the cultural and intellectual heart of campus. In addition to all of the study space, research help, and millions of items available through our collections, we also offer a vibrant line-up of artistic and cultural exhibitions and scholarly and literary programming throughout the academic year. Past authors who have visited the library include Father Greg Boyle and Lisa See. All of our events are free and open to the public, so if you are a local, please consider joining us! Visit the library calendar of events for more information, or sign up for Happenings @ Hannon, our monthly e-newsletter.
