These resources are available on the web and provide general overviews of African American history and figures. Be sure to evaluate and critically review sources before citing them in your research.
Umbra Search is a digital library and widget that aggregates materials documenting African American history and cultural life from archives, libraries, museums, and other US repositories. Umbra Search features thumbnail images and descriptive information about photographs, manuscripts, documents, books, sound files, video files, and other freely available resources.
Organized by modules (Plantation to Ghetto, Civil Rights Era, The Future in the Present) featuring key figures and some primary sources available for download
36 years' worth of ABJ television shows. The ABJ programs represent a wide variety of African-American viewpoints on issues important to the city of Detroit, the state of Michigan, and the nation as whole, ranging from labor unrest in the automobile industry, to the urban civil disturbances in Detroit and across the nation riots of 1967, the emergence of outspoken African American political leaders, and the explosion of Motown music.
Discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale. The CRDL features a collection of unedited news film from the WSB (Atlanta) and WALB (Albany, Ga.) television archives held by the Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection at the University of Georgia Libraries.
Virtual Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture including exhibitions, books, articles, photographs, prints, audio and video streams, and selected external links for research in the history and cultures of the peoples of Africa and the African Diaspora.
The Archives holds a wealth of material documenting the African American experience, and highlights these resources online, in programs, and through traditional and social media. Consider portals by subject.
Digitized archival collections feature a myriad of subjects and formats including photographs, audio and video resources, and publications. Scholarly works include Atlanta University Center theses and dissertations, electronic journals, faculty publications, student scholarship, and audio and video recordings of programs and conferences.
The CBMR's Library and Archives offers a comprehensive research collection of books, periodicals, sound recordings, printed music and scores, photographs, video, manuscripts, archival materials, and a wide selection of theses and dissertations on black music.
Archives & Research Centers (May Require Visitation)
Search finding aids from BMRC's member institutions and their collections including Archives of American Art, the Green Book database, and the Black Press Research Collective
