Welcome! This guide was created to help LMU students and researchers find and use library resources in the field of Animation. It is a work in progress, so all feedback, questions, or suggestions are encouraged. Please leave a comment anywhere on the guide.
Best Bets for Animation
The databases listed below are the primary places to search for scholarly or technical journal articles in Animation:
Arts & Humanities Citation Citation Index (through Web of Science) is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers over 1,160 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. It also indexes individually selected, relevant items from approximately 7,000 major science and social science journals. Coverage of current information and retrospective data from 1975 to the present.
Full text access to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Includes access to the abstract records and full text articles published since 1988 with select content published since 1893 from IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines as well as conference proceedings. Also includes current and archived IEEE standards. LMU's subscription does not include online access to the full text of IEEE books.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text is an online tool for film and television research. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 380 publications (and selected coverage of nearly 300), as well as full text for more than 100 journals, and 100 books. In addition, Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to the present and over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive.
Best Bets for Multidisciplinary / General Research
The databases listed below are excellent places to search for scholarly sources on topics that span multiple disciplines:
OneSearch+ is a single search box that allows researchers to look for books, articles, primary and secondary resources and relevant collections at the same time. It does this by accessing an index of a majority (but not all of) the library's collections and holdings.
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Index to over 4,560 scholarly and popular titles in all subjects; includes over 3,240 titles in full text. Content includes scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. Coverage varies by title, but some have full text dating back as far as the early 1970s.