This is the "Home" page of the "Annotated Bibliography: How to Create One" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Annotated Bibliography: How to Create One   Tags: annotated_bibliography, bibliography  

A series of steps and advice in creating an Annotated Bibliography
Last Updated: Mar 19, 2014 URL: http://libguides.lmu.edu/AnnotatedBib Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is this Guide for?

Annotated bibliographies are great research tools.  Creating one as an assignment is a good learning experience.  It involves skills of selection, evaluation, description, and critical thinking.  This guide should help you create a good and useful tool.
 

Get Research Help!

Face-to-face help is available at the information desk.

Stop by during our information desk hours.

Call us on the phone at 310.338.2790

Chat with us by Instant Message

Text us from your cell phone at (424) 570-3228

Get assistance via Virtual Reference, available 24/7!

 

Annotated Bibliographies

An annotated bibliography is a helpful research tool that lists useful resources for a specific research topic or area. It includes a short commentary for each book, article, Web site, etc. that it lists. The commentary is descriptive (tells about the content) and evaluative (tells about the author's point of view, whether the item is "mainstream" or takes a new or radical tack, and for what kind of research it would be useful).


Annotated bibliographies answer the question: "What would be the most relevant, most useful or most up-to-date sources for this topic?" You can see how they are of value to scholars. And, as an assignment, they get you to engage in the work of scholarship, using your knowledge, research, and critical thinking skills.

 

Library News

Loading Loading...
blank padding
© 2009 Loyola Marymount University | William H. Hannon Library | 1 LMU Drive, MS 8200, Los Angeles, CA 90045 | 310.338.2788 |
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip