Get Help
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Michael A. Signer Collection at LMU: Home

An appreciation of the eminent professor and rabbi, Michael A. Signer, and an appreciation of the collection of his books made available to us by his wife, Betty Signer.

Michael A. Signer 1945-2009

To get some idea of who Rabbi Signer was as a person, see the tributes in the memorial Web sites below. 

To get additional information about Rabbi Signer, see the Biographical Information tab. 

To see a list of some of his writings, see the Writings tab.

In Memory of Rabbi Dr.  Michael Signer  (Council on Centers of Christian-Jewish Relations)

Eulogy for Rabbi Signer (Rabbi Ellenson, HUC-JIR head)

Comments by John Cavadini (quoted in Medieval News)

Remembrance by Rev. Richard McBrien (Nat'l Catholic Reporter)

Michael J. Signer Memorial Lectures - Iona College

To honor the memory of Rabbi Signer, Iona College (New Rochelle, NY) instituted a series of lectures tied to his work.   This Web page describes the lectures to date.

Rabbi Michael A. Signer Memorial Lecture

The Rabbi Michael A. Signer Collection

Rabbi and Professor Michael Alan Signer

 

Michael Alan Signer was an outstanding teacher and scholar, who in his roles as rabbi, theologian, university professor, mentor and friend, touched many minds and many hearts.

The William H. Hannon Library is honored and grateful for the generosity of Rabbi Signer's wife, Betty, who made nearly three thousand volumes from his scholarly collection available for our acquisition.  This LibGuide is a small part of the appreciation we offer for this splendid opportunity.

Rabbi Signer being the esteemed and productive scholar he was,  the Hannon Library already possessed a number of books authored or edited by him in our collections before this donation.  But this new trove of valuable scholarship has indeed deepened and widened our collections in Judaism, Jewish studies, Jewish-Catholic relations, Holocaust studies, medieval Biblical studies, and a host of other topics. 

Books acquired from this collection are identified with "Rabbi Michael A. Signer Collection" in the "Note" field of their record in LINUS, the Library's online catalog.

Reception February 9, 2012

The LMU Jewish Studies Program and the Department of Theological Studies sponsored

The Michael A. Signer Collection Dedication

to recognize and celebrate the legacy of Rabbi Michael Signer.

This program, exhibit and reception took place in the Von der Ahe Family Suite on February 9, 2012.  Betty Signer was Guest of Honor. The program included the following speakers:

  • Joseph Hellige, Ph.D., Senior Vice President, Loyola Marymount University
  • Holli Levitsky, Ph.D, Director of Jewish Studies, LMU
  • Rt. Rev. Alexei Smith, Director, Office of Ecumenical and Interreligious Affairs, Archdiocese of Los Angeles
  • Rabbi Arthur Gross-Schaefer, JD, CPA, Chair of Marketing & Business Law, LMU
  • Michael Marmur, Ph.D*., Vice-President for Academic Affairs, Hebrew Union College-Jewish Institute of Religion
  • Rabbi William Cutter, Ph.D., Steinberg Emeritus Professor of Human Relations, HUC-JIR
  • Arnold Band, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus of Hebrew and Comparative Literature, UCLA
  • Rabbi Morley Feinstein, University Synagogue, Los Angeles

*Rabbi David Ellenson, President of HUC-JIR could not be present, but sent a memorable speech, kindly read by Dr. Marmur.