Get Help
Skip to main content

Library Resources in the Time of COVID-19

Use this guide to learn how to access library resources online and get virtual support with your research during the COVID-19 pandemic closure.

Request a scan of journal articles or book chapters from LMU print materials or other libraries

If you only need an article or chapter from a book, you will need to request it through ILLiad. If you have not used ILLiad before, you will need to create an account. FAQ: How do I create an ILLiad account? 

Requesting through ILLiad will allow you to: 

  • Request that library staff scan a print book or journal in the LMU library - use the Article or Book Chapter forms. You will receive a PDF in your ILLiad account once it is scanned.
  • Request a book chapter or journal article the library does not own through our research databases, from other libraries - use the Article or Book Chapter forms. You will receive a PDF in your ILLiad account once the lending library adds it.
  • Request a print book the library does not own - use the Book form. Lending libraries set the policies for sending ILL books by mail to library users and set the due date for these books. Please reach out to libdocs@lmu.edu if you have questions about pickup or mail delivery options for physical interlibrary loan materials.

Determine what portion of the book you need and supply us with as much information as you can: whether it is a chapter or an article, its title, volume, issue, page numbers, and year. 

Please note: the amount of any one item that we are permitted to copy depends on a number of factors and varies per item.

Archives & Special Collections duplication requests

The Archives and Special Collections department and its physical collections are currently closed. Some of our collections are available online. Please request digital copies of special collections materials through our Duplication Request FormPlease note: currently our ability to accept and process duplication requests may be limited; however, we are happy to speak with you about your duplication needs.

Course reserves scanning for Brightspace

If you are a faculty member and you need an item scanned for your course, we can post scanned articles and book chapters in Brightspace. Request through the Reserves Request Form.

To maximize access to course materials for students, we encourage faculty to consider creating online course-packs using articles and sections of books, and/or to explore open and affordable alternatives that can be linked and freely accessed from Brightspace.

We are processing course material reserve requests as they come in, and appreciate your patience as we work with limited staff and interruptions in distribution chains in a rapidly changing situation. If we can acquire a multi-user license library e-book to fulfill your request, we will do so.

For texts where an e-book is unavailable, we are currently fulfilling scanning requests for e-reserves that exceed best practices under normal circumstances. Note, however, that we must still ensure that our scanning practices are reasonable in relation to these extraordinary circumstances, and we are unable to digitize entire copyrighted texts. Please limit your request to only the portions of a given work that are needed for your course, and only distribute these copies to students using Brightspace to ensure that access is limited to those enrolled in the course.