Get Help
Skip to Main Content

Library Resources in the Time of COVID-19

Use this guide to learn how to access library resources online and get virtual support with your research during the COVID-19 pandemic closure.

Pick up library materials at the library

How do I request an item for pickup?

Click on the red "Request" button and sign in with your MyLMU information or your name and library barcode from your OneCard. Items will be on hold for you at the Circulation Desk - you will receive an email when they are ready.

Who can request items for pickup? 

  • LMU undergraduate & graduate students, faculty, and staff who can come to campus.

    • Current students, faculty and staff will be able to enter campus to pick up books during the library's operating hours. 

    • Those without campus access or unable to come during the summer operating hours can request mail delivery instead. Not all groups are eligible for mail delivery at the moment - please check with Chamero.Mack@lmu.edu with questions. 

Where is the pickup location?

The William H. Hannon Library is located near Drollinger Parking Structure as you travel up the hill from University Hall. Please bring your OneCard to present and check out your books at the Circulation Desk on Level 1.

Turnaround time: 

  • 4 hours, during library hours Monday-Friday.

Materials available to request for pickup:  

  • Books from the Main Stacks, Basement Storage, Popular Reading Collection, and Curriculum Materials Collection. Most books will be checked out for one semester (students) or one academic year (faculty). Popular Reading Collection and Curriculum Materials Collection books will be checked out for a 3-week loan.

  • DVDs (1 week loan, renewable)

  • Interlibrary loan book requests (turnaround time will vary based on shipping time from lending library, and checkout periods will vary based on the lending library). 

Questions or concerns

Please reach out to us at circulation@lmu.edu if you have questions about non-circulating books (in collections like Reserves, Reference) or other items. If we cannot lend a book, we can help you scan a section for your course or scan a section for your personal research. If you have questions about interlibrary loan requests, please reach out to libdocs@lmu.edu

Requesting Library Materials for Mail Delivery

If you want to request a book by mail delivery, please follow the steps below.

---

Step 1: Search for the book you need in the library catalog.

You can search by keywords, title, author, or advanced searchFor more help: Check out the Searching the LINUS catalog video or go to our Get Help page to chat with a librarian.

Step 2: Make sure the book is available in the library. 

Some books may be checked out already by others in your class or researching the same topic. If the item you are looking at doesn't have Item Status: Available, it is not available for pickup or delivery. If there is no Item Status at all, look for a link - it may be an e-book!

Step 3: Check the location of the book. 

Items in locations Main Stacks, Popular Reading (POP READ), Curriculum Materials Collection (CMC) and most books in Basement Storage (excluding journals and VHS tapes or other media) are available to check out for pickup or mail. DVDs in the Circulation Desk location are also available for checkout with a one-week loan period, only through the pickup service.

Step 4: Request the book by filling out the request form by clicking "Request mail delivery".

Interested in requesting a book that's unavailable in our library catalog through Link+? Visit the Interlibrary Loan / Link+ tab for more information.

Interested in getting a scanned copy of a chapter instead of the whole book? Visit the Scanning Options tab for more information.

Step 5: Make sure to complete all your contact information and book information you know. 

This will help us make sure we locate the right item for you. 

Mail delivery of print library materials

Who can request?

  • All LMU students, faculty, and staff living more than 25 miles from the LMU campus and within the United States. Due to the cost of shipping books, we encourage those living closer to campus to use the pickup option whenever possible. If you will be returning to campus soon for Fall 2021, please take into account the delivery time for these books before ordering mail delivery.

  • We regret that we cannot ship outside the United States, due to cost, risk of loss, and shipping time - please reach out to us at circulation@lmu.edu or libdocs@lmu.edu to investigate other options like scanning or e-book purchasing. 

Turnaround time: 

  • 5-10 business days (including processing and shipping time) 

Shipping method:  

  • USPS Media Mail with a tracking number 

  • Return postage for USPS Media Mail will be included in the package.  

  • Instructions and a list of books sent in one package will be included in your confirmation email. Requestor will be responsible for mailing the same items back and following labeling directions for the package.  

Materials available to request by mail:  

  • Books from the library’s collections with long term checkout dates, including Main Stacks and most Basement Storage items. Popular Reading Collection and Curriculum Materials Collection books may also be checked out, for a six-week loan. 

  • Selected interlibrary loan requests, with permission from the lending library. (Turnaround times will vary based on lending library, and checkout periods will be set by the lending library.)

Questions or concerns

Please reach out to us at circulation@lmu.edu if you have questions about non-circulating books (in collections like Reserves or Reference) or items not currently available.

If we cannot lend a book, we can help you scan a section for your course or scan a section for your personal research - see Scanning Options.

Students living outside the United States

International students and others living outside the United States can still access our e-book collection and request PDF scans via interlibrary loan (see Scanning Options). Learn more about accessing resources outside the United States

Physical Reserves

Print reserve services will be unavailable for Spring 2021. To maximize access to course materials for students, we encourage faculty to consider creating online course-packs using articles and sections of books, and/or to explore open and affordable alternatives that can be linked and freely accessed from Brightspace. More information is available on our faculty page.