| SCHOLARLY | POPULAR | TRADE |
|---|---|---|
|
Scholarly articles present original research on topics related to business written by professors, researchers, or professionals.
|
Popular articles are about current events and popular culture, opinion pieces, business trends, or advertising written by staff writers or free-lancers. |
Trade articles are about news, trends, best practices, and products for a specific industry or profession written by a professional in that field. |
|
Example: Journal of International Business Studies |
Example: BusinessWeek, Forbes |
Example: Adweek or a trade association’s website |
Search the open access journals to locate scholarly articles on your topic. Open access journals are made available online (aka Google) free of cost or other access barriers.
Search the library databases to locate scholarly, trade, and news articles on your topic.
Subjects: Business
Description: Research database from ProQuest containing full text.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Company Reports; Industry Reports
Subjects: Business
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Company Reports; Industry Reports; SWOT Analysis; Country Reports
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from SAGE Publications containing full text. Weekly publication covers the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summary reports, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
Contents: Trade/Professional Articles; Bibliographies; Summary reports
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from ProQuest containing full text. Includes materials from 1990-present. Mainly focused on the African American/Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, and Native experiences.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines
Subjects: MANY
Description: General web search engine of scholarly literature. Google Scholar is a free search engine, so you must configure your Google Scholar Settings to access LMU materials off campus.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Books; Book Reviews; Conference Proceedings
Subjects: Environmental Science, Environmental Studies, Urban Studies
Description: General research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes scholarly, government, and general-interest sources covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations, and governments.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Books; Book Reviews; Industry Reports
This link opens in a new windowSubjects: MANY
Description: General research database containing full text. Most recent 3-5 years of articles may not be available.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; E-books; Primary Sources; Book Reviews; Book Chapters
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from EBSCOhost containing full text.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Television and Radio News Transcripts
Subjects: MANY
Description: Using OneSearch provides simple, one-stop searching for books and e-books, videos, articles, media, and more.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Books; E-books
The Subsistence Marketplaces Initiatives provides a list of articles by topic:
Research Tip: Use the databases OneSearch+ or Google Scholar to locate an article of interest.