Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service.
Subjects: History, International Relations, Peace Studies
Description: General data collection from CQ Press containing full text. Contains biographical and voting data for members of Congress. Useful for analyzing voting records, habits or patterns. Download Data allows users to export data into a spreadsheet.
Contents: Statistics / Datasets; Reference Tool, Commentary More info
Official website for the The United States House of Representatives. This is the lower chamber of the United States Congress, which along with the Senate comprises the legislature of the United States.
Official website of the United States Senate.This is the upper chamber of the United States Congress, which along with the United States House of Representatives—the lower chamber—composes the legislature of the United States.
Provides detailed reports on all major legislative action, the president's legislative proposals, statements and major speeches and analyses of the Supreme Court's decisions. Includes coverage of political and lobbying activities. Covers 1983-present.
Independent analyses of budgetary and economic issues to support the Congressional budget process. Each year, the agency’s economists and budget analysts produce dozens of reports and hundreds of cost estimates for proposed legislation.
After each day that Congress is in session, the proceedings are printed in the Congressional Record (CR) and available the following morning. Daily Congressional proceedings may include legislative activity by the chambers and their committees, Member remarks, communications from the president, and more. Note that official records of House and Senate actions are recorded in their respective journals.
Subjects: Political Science, History, Peace Studies
Description: General data collection from CQ Press containing full text. Includes materials from 1946-Present. Organizes, distills, and cross-indexes full years in Congress and in national politics for permanent reference.