Curriculum Materials Collection (CMC)

from School Library Journal

As the book review journal of the American Library Association, Booklist connects library and education workers to the books and resources needed to support and enrich their communities. Booklist Reader, our patron-facing publication, answers the question, "What should I read next?"

The Bulletin, founded in 1945, is devoted entirely to the review of current books for children. It provides concise summaries and critical evaluations to help you find the books you need. Each review gives you information on book’s content, reading level, strengths and weaknesses, and quality of format, as well as suggestions for curricular use. Most books are reviewed from publisher’s galley proofs. With this up-to-date coverage, you’ll know which books to buy the moment they’re available.

Our Guide/Reviews Database offers short, critical reviews by trusted professionals of recommended hardcover trade books published in the United States for young people from 2000 to the present. The reviews are clear and honest, brief and to the point, identifying strengths and weaknesses and rating the books on a scale from 1 to 4, with titles recommended by The Horn Book Magazine receiving the highest ratings 1 or 2. The Guide/Reviews Database is fully searchable by author/illustrator, title, subject, bibliographic data, rating, and keyword. New features include useful booklists—curated by Horn Book editors and updated frequently

The Horn Book Magazine, a bimonthly publication focused on children's literature, and the oldest of its kind in the United States. The magazine features articles, essays, and reviews, including those in The Horn Book Guide, which assesses a wide range of children's books published in the U.S..

Book reviews, recommendations, and the latest literary news from the most trusted voice in book discovery, Kirkus Reviews. We've reviewed the nation's top publishers' books since 1933. Our coverage includes the big 5 houses, small presses, genre publishers & more. 92 - Years as a leading voice in book discovery. 10k - Books reviewed per year.

Publishers Weekly offers feature articles and news on all aspects of the book business, bestsellers lists in a number of categories, and industry statistics, but its best-known service is prepublication book reviews, of which it publishes nearly 9,000 per year.

School Library Journal is the premiere publication for librarians and information specialists who work with children and teens. A source of quality journalism and reviews for 70 years, SLJ produces award-winning features and news coverage on: literacy, best practices, technology, education policy and other issues of interest to the school library and greater educator community. We evaluate a broad range of resources, from books and digital content to databases, in 6000+ reviews published annually.