LibGuides: Theological Studies (Graduate): Biblical Studies Tools

Translations & Critical Editions

Oremus Bible Browser Online (NRSV)
Offers free, online version of the NRSV, hosted by an Anglican group. Browsing only by book and chapter, there is no search mode.
New English Translation of the Septuagint (NETS)
Downloadable PDFs of scholarly translations of the ancient Greek version of the Hebrew Bible. From the International Organization for Septuagint and Cognate Studies.

Standard Greek & Hebrew critical texts:

Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: A full text bible commentary series from Bloomsbury comprised of more then 86 volumes covering all books of the Bible and many apocryphal texts.
Contents: Books; E-books; Primary Sources; Primary texts in translation.
Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: A six-volume dictionary of the Bible offering the most up-to-date and comprehensive treatment of biblical subjects and topics
Contents: Books; E-books; Primary Sources; Primary texts in translation.
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Philosophy, Ethics, Biblical Studies
Description: Research database containing full text. Written 2010-present, these are guides to scholarly works on a topic. Each consists of overview paragraphs and annotated bibliographies.
Contents: Bibliographies

Textual History of the Bible
Addresses a range of traditions, including iconographic, martyrological, ecclesiastical, and Christological traditions, as well as cultic phenomena, such as the veneration of saints. The history of the transmission of texts and the attention to recent scholarship will play an important role. The BEEC focuses on early Christianity from a historical perspective in order to uncover the lasting legacy of the authors and texts until the present day. Its content is intended to bridge the gap between the fields of New Testament studies and patristics, covering the whole period of early Christianity up to 600 CE.

Anchor Bible Dictionary by D.N. Freedman (editor)
Call Number: REF BS440 .A54 1992
Publication Date: 1992
6-volume scholarly dictionary with 6,000 entries from 1,000 contributors.
New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible (5 volumes) by K. D. Sakenfeld (editor)
Call Number: REF BS440 .N445 2006
Publication Date: 2006-2009
Entries summarize contemporary scholarship on a comprehensive range of topics from the Hebrew Bible, New Testament, Apocrypha, and from contextual studies of the ancient Near East and the Greco-Roman worlds and their literatures. Over 8,000 entries by 900 scholars.
Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament by G.J. Botterweck & H. Ringgren (editors)
Call Number: REF BS440 .B5713
Publication Date: 1974-1977
In-depth discussions of key Hebrew and Aramaic words in the Hebrew Bible, focusing on word origin and use and on their theological significance in biblical texts. (Hebrew and Aramaic words are transliterated.)
Theological Dictionary of the New Testament by Kittel, Friedrich & Bromiley (editors)
Call Number: REF BS2397 .K513
Publication Date: 1964-1976
In-depth discussions of key Greek words in the New Testament, focusing on word origin and use and on their theological significance in biblical texts. NOTE: Headwords are in Greek script (not transliterated).

The Jerome Biblical Commentary for the Twenty-First Century (Online Resource)
In this new fully revised edition the entire content of the commentary has been revised to bring it up to date with the very latest scholarship, featuring the leading Catholic scholars of our day. Whilst based on the historical critical method of Biblical study, the contributors draw in a range of more modern approaches to the biblical texts.

Below are some standard commentary series that can serve as good starting points for your research.

Anchor Bible series by various
Call Number: BS192.2 .A1 (Main stacks & basement storage)
Publication Date: 1964-
One or more volume for each book, including much of the Apocrypha. Definitive commentary series with exhaustive bibliographies, introductions, and verse-by-verse notes.
International Critical Commentary series
Call Number: various (Main stacks, basement storage, & electronic)
Publication Date: 1900s-
T&T Clark International's long-running series accessible to those without Greek and Hebrew language skills. Detailed analyses of archaeological, historical, hermeneutical, and theological questions relating to the text.
Hermeneia: A Critical & Historical Commentary on the Bible by various
Call Number: various (Main stacks & basement storage)
Publication Date: 1971-
High-quality academic commentaries on all books of the Bible and some apocryphal works. Thematic discussions and verse-by-verse notes accessible to students and scholars.
New Interpreter's Bible (12 volumes)
Call Number: REF BS491.2 .N484 1994
Publication Date: 1994
Academic biblical commentary series geared toward religious leaders and educators. Cover essential historical, sociocultural, literary, and theological issues. Includes application and theological reflection sections.

Find books, eBooks, videos and other materials that LMU owns or has on reserve.

New Strong's Expanded Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible by James Strong (editor)
Call Number: REF BS425 .S8 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Concordance to the Hebrew Bible and the New Testament
Synopsis of the Four Gospels (6th ed.) by Kurt Aland (editor)
Call Number: REF BS2560.A2 A35 1983
Publication Date: 1983
Lines up pericopes (stories) in each Gospel with the same or similar stories in the other Gospels. Outline of all the combined Gospel stories in the back.

Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: A six-volume dictionary of the Bible offering the most up-to-date and comprehensive treatment of biblical subjects and topics
Contents: Books; E-books; Primary Sources; Primary texts in translation.
Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: A full text bible commentary series from Bloomsbury comprised of more then 86 volumes covering all books of the Bible and many apocryphal texts.
Contents: Books; E-books; Primary Sources; Primary texts in translation.