LibGuides: Medieval Philosophy: Databases (Articles)

Not available at LMU?

Request articles that LMU does not own via your ILLiad account. If supplied by an ILLiad partner, delivery time (via e-mail) is 3-5 working days. If if has to be photocopied and mailed, it will take longer. For more information, see the DDS LibGuide.

Sample Journal Titles

These journals differ from one another, but all have a direct or indirect relation to Philosophy. However, there are many articles on focused philosophical topics in more general philosophical, theological and humanities periodicals. Use the indexing databases as described in the middle box to find specific, articles in many more journals than are on this list!

American Catholic Philosophical Quarterly

Faith and Philosophy: Journal of the Society of Christian Philosophers

Hypatia

Journal of Medieval and Early Modern Studies

Journal of Moral Philosophy

Journal of Philosophy

Listening

Medieval Philosophy and Theology (Open Access, 1991-2003)

Medieval Review (Open Access, 1993+)

Philosophia Christi

Philosophical Topics

Philosophy Compass

Postmedieval: a journal of medieval cutural studies

Saint Anselm Journal (Open Access, 2003+)

Studies in Christian Ethics

Thomistic Papers

Traditio (paper) - online version (Fordham U.)

Transformation

Philosophy and Related Indexing Databases *new (Medieval Phil.)

LMU Only Search these databases using Keywords, then refine the results with the official Subjects/Descriptors you discover for pertinent articles. Feel free to ASK FOR HELP with these and other databases!

For all these databases, by using the link to full text link, you will find out if LMU has the full text of an article either online or print. For articles we don't have, you can request an InterLibrary Loan using this page, or inquire at the Information Desk. And don't forget: if searching from off-campus, use your MyLMU information to authenticate yourself as a valid user.

Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Main professional index to philosophy, from applied ethics to xenophobia, and beyond. A current bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major areas of philosophy and related fields. The Philosopher’s Index features author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals and books, including contributions to anthologies and book reviews. The Philosopher's Index contains research published since 1940 including journals with content representing a variety of languages.
Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from over 300 humanities periodicals dating back to 1995, and indexing for almost 700 journals—of which 470 are peer-reviewed—dating as far back as 1984. Humanities Full Text includes full text articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing dating as far back as 1984. The database provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.
Research Library This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from ProQuest containing full text. It covers over 150 subjects and topics.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Industry Reports
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An academic archive of scholarly journals, including a focused cluster on the humanities. Note that this collection does NOT include current articles; there is usually a 3-5 year block, so use other databases for the most current articles. JSTOR offers interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. It includes over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and unrelated titles. Typically, coverage ends 3-5 years before the present date, a "moving wall" system that protects publishers from last revenue for recent articles.
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
A professional interdisciplinary guide to the vast production of the Middle Ages, including philosophy, theology, literature, etc. The International Medieval Bibliography (IMB), established in 1967, is an interdisciplinary bibliography of the Middle Ages. The IMB is produced by an Editorial team at the University of Leeds and some 30 contributors world wide. It covers periodical literature and miscellany volumes published in Europe, North America, Australasia, Brazil, Japan and South Africa. (The Printed IMB appears twice a year, covering most recent publications.) This database indexes articles, notes, and similar literature on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the date range of 400 to 1500 for the entire continent of Europe, the Middle East and North Africa for the period before the Muslim conquest and parts of those areas subsequently controlled by Christian powers. Includes more than 300,000 articles published since 1967, all of which are fully classified by date, subject and location.
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Though focused on religion, there are plenty of articles and book reviews on medieval philosophy in this far-reaching database. Produced by the American Theological Library Association, the ATLA Religion Database covers religion worldwide, and includes more than 575,000 article citations from more than 1,679 journals, more than 239,000 essay citations from over 16,800 multi-author works, and more than 530,000 book review citations. Full text is provided for more than 294,000 electronic articles and book reviews.

TOCS-IN
A bibliography to the Classical West; includes articles on philosophy through Augustine. Be prepared to copy and paste book titles into LINUS, or journal titles into our Journal List, as there is no linking of items.

Philosophy Documentation Center

Presently, LMU subscribes to five journals available full-text through the Philosophy Documentation Center. The LINUS record linked to below lists and links to these journals. There is an internal search engine, but it is far from precise. You can use Philosophers Index to do a more precise search, and link to articles in most of these and other journals directly.

Philosophy Documentation Center

Online Bibliography for Philosophy

The Hannon Library subscribes to the Philosophy module of the Oxford Bibliographies Online. Selective committees of specialists have created biblliographies of what they consider core materials for study in the areas of philosophy covered by the modules. So check out John Marenbon's Medieval Philosophy bibliography! Click on "Find it in your library" to see if LMU owns the book you want. If not... LINK+ or ILLIAD will get them for you, if you give yourself time.

Oxford Biblical Studies Online This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Theological Studies, Classics and Archaeology, Biblical Studies
Description: Background Information database containing full text. Mainly focused on ancient Israel (Palestine) and related parts of the Ancient Near East and the Mediterranean region. Definitions and scholarly overviews related to the Hebrew Bible (Old Testament) and New Testament. Multiple Bible translations (NRSV, NAB, JPS, etc.), concordances (NRSV, NAB), and a few commentaries.
Contents: Book Chapters; Primary Sources; Primary texts in translation; Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Handbooks

OneSearch+

Open Access Journals for Philosophy

A linked list of almost 200 Philosophy journals published as Open Access, i.e. free online full texts. Exercise your critical thinking, scan articles, and see if the journal is up to snuff, before considering extensive reading and citing from these. Many are quite reputable, even peer-reviewed. Open Access is some scholars' answer to the overly expensive prices charged by some journal publishers (who don't pay royalties to -- and indeed may even charge -- their authors).

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): Philosophy