LibGuides: Vatican II: A 50th Anniversary Review of Resources: Databases (Articles)

Find Articles, Chapters, etc. via Religion Databases

LMU Only Search these databases using Keywords, then refine the results with the Descriptors you discover for pertinent articles. Feel free to ASK FOR HELP with these and other databases!

For all these databases, by using the link to full text link, you will find out if LMU has the full text of an article either online or print. For articles we don't have, you can request an InterLibrary Loan from another library for $3 at the Reference Desk. And don't forget: if searching from off-campus, use your MyLMU login and password to authenticate yourself as a valid user.

Religion Database This link opens in a new window
This index covers a mix of religion magazines and journals, including Catholic magazines like America and Catholic journals like Catholic Biblical Quarterly. Many articles are full-text. ProQuest Religion indexes more than 150 magazines and journals, with most of them available in full-text. This database covers formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many worldwide religions. In addition, there are titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. More full-text journals have been added in areas related to religious studies, such as philosophy, ethics, and international perspectives.
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
This worldwide database covers all religions in over 1000 journals worldwide, plus reviews of books and book chapters. It is the index of choice for most religious scholars, and has substantial content from Catholic journals. Produced by the American Theological Library Association, the ATLA Religion Database covers religion worldwide, and includes more than 575,000 article citations from more than 1,679 journals, more than 239,000 essay citations from over 16,800 multi-author works, and more than 530,000 book review citations. Full text is provided for more than 294,000 electronic articles and book reviews.
New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Online version. Indexes scholarly articles on the New Testament, and provides summaries. New Testament Abstracts Online, a product of a partnership between ATLA and Boston College, is a research and bibliographic aid for scholars, librarians, clergy and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu. The database contains more than 44,000 article abstracts, over 1,600 review abstracts, book abstracts, and software abstracts. Each year an additional articles from more than 500 periodicals in numerous languages are selected for inclusion. In addition, approximately 900 current books are also summarized annually. Article coverage dates back to 1985.
Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Online version. Indexes scholarly articles on the Hebrew Bible, and provides summaries. Old Testament Abstracts Online, a product of a partnership between ATLA and the Catholic Biblical Association, features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Abstracts from over 450 journals are in English, regardless of the language of the original work. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more. Coverage in the database dates back to 1978.

Newspapers &c.

New York Times (1851-2019) This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General newspaper collection from ProQuest containing full text. Includes materials from 1851-2013.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Primary Sources

L'Osservatore Romano
Older issues available in a mix of CD-ROM, microfilm and paper issues. We get the weekly English version for our print periodical subscription. Unfortunately, our microform of the English version doesn't start until 1968, after the Council. If you can read Italian, however ...

Los Angeles Times Historical (1881-2015) This link opens in a new window
This covers the L.A. Times all the way back to the late 1800s. Texts and images.
Times Digital Archive 1785-1985 This link opens in a new window
See the contemporary reactions toward Vatican II in England. (pre-Murdock era Times of London)

Sample Journal Titles

There are more than 200 Catholic periodicals in our print journal collection alone. These and our online journals, magazines and newspapers differ from one another, but all have a Catholic focus or foundation.

However, there are many articles on Catholic topics in more general theological, philosophical, and general periodicals. . Use the indexing databases as described in the middle box to find many more, and still specific, articles.

America

Analecta Bollandiana

Benedictine

The Catholic Agitator

The Catholic Worker

Catholic Digest

Cistercian Studies Quarterly

Communio

Continuum

East Asian Pastoral Review

Homiletic and Pastoral Review

Inside the Vatican

The Irish Theological Quarterly

The Jurist

The Merton Annual

The National Catholic Bioethics Quarterly

New Blackfriars

New Theology Review

Nouvelle Revue Théologique

Origins (documents Catholic news, encyclicals, Papal decrees, etc.)

L'Osservatore Romano

Proceedings of the American Catholic Philosophical Association

Theological Studies

The Thomist

The Tidings

U.S. Catholic Historian

The Wanderer

Vatican II: A 50th Anniversary Review of Resources: Databases (Articles)

Find Articles, Chapters, etc. via Religion Databases

Other Article Databases

Newspapers &c.

Sample Journal Titles