Through public history projects, LMU History students and faculty can bring their research to a broader community and engage in important areas of public debate, commemoration, and interpretation. Here are some recent public history projects created in LMU History courses.
An exhibition of Civil War artifacts from the library's collections, curated by the students of History 550, based on the research they had conducted during their Fall 2014 course. On display January-May 2015.
Subject guides that highlight ARTstor content related to various disciplines, including African and African-American Studies, American Studies, Architecture, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Design, Fashion and Costume, History of Medicine and Natural Science, Language and Literature, Medieval Studies, Religious Studies, Theater and Dance, and Women's Studies.
More than 200,000 digitized items (photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, etc.) that reflect the diverse history of California. Collections support California Content Standards, including primary sources sets.
Alliance of libraries, museums, and other cultural institutions dedicated to preserving and improving access to the raw material of Los Angeles history. Educators interested in arranging class visits can browse by "class visits" in their searchable directory of over 230 local collections.
Quarterly online publications created by the Library of Congress Educational Outreach Division in collaboration with the TPS Educational Consortium, focusing on pedagogical approaches to teaching with Library of Congress digitized primary sources in K-12 classrooms.
Teachers' resources provided by the National Archives, including lesson plans and activities, school tours and activities, using primary sources, state and regional resources, featured activities and resources, and professional development opportunities.
Includes reproducible copies of primary documents from the National Archives and various teaching activities, including lectures, demonstrations, analysis of documents, independent research, and group work. Materials include subjects such as the American Revolution, Civil War and Reconstruction, the Great Depression, and World War II.
Join the DocsTeach community to create custom activities for the classroom, share activities with students via DocsTeach Classrooms, use lessons that other educators have created, and publish activities to be used by other educators who use this site.
Offers hundreds of free, innovative online resources for teaching and learning American history, developed by the National Museum of American History and includes Lessons & Activities, Interactives & Media, Teacher Resources, and more.
Teacher-selected resources around a number of topics, including Civil Rights, Colonial America, Invention, Native American History, Transportation, and Westward Expansion. Each topic includes document-based questions (DBQs), lesson plans, primary sources, and video.
The SAA Reference, Access, and Outreach Section’s Teaching with Primary Sources Working Group is pleased to disseminate a bibliography that compiles resources focusing on the use of primary sources in elementary, secondary, and collegiate classrooms. This bibliography is an ideal resource for archivists who wish to learn more about utilizing primary sources in interactions with teachers, faculty, and students.