LMU Librarians' Guide to Liaison Work

Scope

The William H. Hannon Library reference collection supports an introduction to research and resource discovery for the LMU community. In this aim, it comprises a broad collection of online and print publications that are primarily accessed by means of the Library's LibGuides, the library's ERMS (database list), and the library's catalog, LINUS. While some reference materials cover multiple subjects in an introductory fashion,materials dealing with subjects in depth will be maintained to the degree to which such subjects are taught in the university's several colleges. Therefore the collection covers thoroughly the arts, humanities,social sciences, education, performing arts, film & television, business, engineering, and science programs of the university. Provision is also made to incorporate the needs and special interests of the LMU community including the university mission, the Jesuit and Marymount traditions, the Catholic Church,and the pursuit of higher education and personal development, including health, athletic activity, and career and internship opportunities.

Format

Resources are collected in electronic and print format. The preferred format is electronic and online, except for items selected for the Atlas Collection, the Dictionary Stand, and the Information Desk. Also, print will be acquired when no online equivalent exists. All online resources should be available to the maximum number of users that licensing and budgeting can accommodate, and the library should have perpetual access, as well as ease of use and ease of access according to accepted standards. Liaisons shall use the following guidelines to choose the format of a reference item:

E-format should be acquired:

• For publications which are likely to be used in discrete segments, e.g. encyclopedia articles.       
• Where the electronic format provides added utility, e.g. additional materials, multi-media content,searching and citing features, and links to other resources.       
• When multiple users will need to access content remotely, e.g. distance education programs.     
• When users for the discipline clearly prefer the electronic format.     
• For publications which frequently update their content. These should also be placed on standing order.

  E-Format should be avoided when:

• The electronic version does not accurately present the content available in the print version, e.g. images,tables, etc. The electronic version is difficult to use.
• The electronic version does not provide perpetual access rights, including when it is only available via an aggregator provided database.     
• The electronic version cannot be listed in the library catalog or in a LibGuide.
• The print version holds value per se as an artifact.     
• The cost of online access exceeds allowed budget (substantially more than print by +150%)     
• The print version is specifically requested by faculty.

Using GOBI to recommend titles to Reference
 
(LRB= reference fund code; RCC = Reference Collection Coordinators)
 
First, the folder “Recommended for Reference” needs to be added to the list of folders you can view when you are logged into your GOBI account. Here’s how to do this:
 
1. Go to Folders tab
2. Select "Manage Library Folders"
3. Scroll down to “Recommend for Reference”
4. Click the word "No." It should change to "Yes."
5. Now it will display when you are looking at slips and use the “Add to Folder”
function.
 
Once this is done, whenever you see a title that you’d like to recommend for Reference (print or electronic), just select the slip, and use the “Add to Folder” function. Select the “Recommended for Reference” as the target folder, and click “Add to Folder”. 

Adding notes on slips you recommend:

Use the “Library Note” feature on the slip itself to identify yourself with your initials. Also use it to write a note such as “We have the 2nd edition but this is the 4th” or “LMU faculty contributed chapters.”  Reference will notify you about their decision.

Wasn't that easy?