LibGuides: Islam: Databases (Articles)

'Combination Tool'

This source is a content database, including the full texts of reference tools, articles, essays, historical and theological background, etc.

Oxford Islamic Studies Online

ATLA Database Online Tutorial: Sacred Texts

Here is an online tutorial for searching for articles, book chapters, etc. on the sacred texts of World Religions in the ATLA Religion Database, with an audio track.

Searching Subject Headings for Sacred Texts of World Religions

Sample Periodicals

Middle Eastern Literatures
Searchable via Academic Search Complete database
Muslim World Journal of Human Rights

Find Articles, Chapters, etc.: Religion Databases *new (Islam)

Religion Database
This index covers a mix of religion magazines and journals. Many articles are full-text. ProQuest Religion indexes more than 150 magazines and journals, with most of them available in full-text. This database covers formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many worldwide religions. In addition, there are titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. More full-text journals have been added in areas related to religious studies, such as philosophy, ethics, and international perspectives.

Feel free to ASK FOR HELP with these and other databases!

Religious and Theological Abstracts
An index, sans full text, but the abstracts/summaries help you decide whether an article is worthwhile. If so, paste the title of the journal into our Journal List search box, and it will lead you to the full text of the articles we own online, or in a print issue. This database provides summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of Religion and Theology. Lists a wide variety of periodical literature covering Christianity, Judaism, and other world religions. Provides English language abstracts of articles in English, Hebrew, Afrikaans, and major European languages.

Islamic History in America: Some Relevant Databases

America: History & Life
America: History & Life is a gateway to academic literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is a bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history

ProQuest Historical Newspapers

Subjects: History, African American Studies, Journalism
Description: Primary source collection from ProQuest containing full text. Includes materials from 1850-1994. Mainly focused on United States. This resource includes archives for the American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger, Los Angeles Sentinel, Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, San Francisco Chronicle, Chicago Defender, New York Amsterdam News, and Times of India.
Contents: Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Primary Sources
Ethnic NewsWatch

Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from ProQuest containing full text. Includes materials from 1990-present. Mainly focused on the African American/Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, and Native experiences.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines
America's Historical Newspapers

Subjects: MANY
Description: General primary source collection from Readex containing full text. Includes materials from 1690-1922. Mainly focused on the United States.
Contents: Primary Sources; Newspapers
Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Humanities Full Text includes full text articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing dating as far back as 1984.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)

Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes materials from 1972-present. Provides access to a wide assortment of English-language journals in the social sciences with detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Trade/Professional Articles

Not available at LMU?

Request articles that LMU does not own via your ILLiad account. If supplied by an ILLiad partner, delivery time (via e-mail) is 3-5 working days. If if has to be photocopied and mailed, it will take longer. For more information, see the DDS LibGuide.

General Databases: content includes both scholarly and popular publications.

Academic Search Complete

Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes materials from 1887-present.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Book Reviews
Research Library

Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from ProQuest containing full text. It covers over 150 subjects and topics.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Industry Reports

Article Archiving Databases

These archives are very useful for caches of quality journals. However, remember that none of them is up-to-date! All have access blocked to the most recent 3-5 years of journal content.

Periodicals Archive Online

Subjects: MANY
Description: General online archive from ProQuest containing full text.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines