These resources help a researcher three ways: First, background knowledge sets a topic in context, and gives names, dates, subtopics, etc. Second, a more focused vocabulary (with terms defined) for more precise computer searches. Third, listing pertinent articles and books to consult.
The lists are examples of print and online materials available at the William H. Hannon Library that you can use. Use your MyLMU name and password to get into online resources with paid subscriptions.
Need help? Send any Reference librarian an e-mail or chat via our Get Help service. Or just drop by the Information Desk on the first floor of the Hannon Library.
Credo Reference is a multidisciplinary collection of hundreds of reference titles, including subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, illustrated guides and biographies. Content is searchable by keyword or topic, and includes hyperlinked cross-references to related articles from other titles in the collection.
Here are some examples of the Reference tools available to you in the Information Commons Reference shelves and some online. Come to the Information Desk for help finding the information you need. See the box below for some additional electronic Reference works.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (complete collection)
Contemporary American Religion, 2v, 1999
Encyclopedia of American Religions, 7th Ed., 2003
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World, 2v, 2004
Encyclopedia of Religion, 2nd Ed., 15v, 2005
Encyclopedia of World Cultures, 10v, 1996
Encyclopedia of World Cultures Supplement, 2002
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America, 2nd Ed., 3v, 2000
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices , 3v, 2006
Oxford Reference Online (complete collection)
The Oxford Dictionary of Islam John L. Esposito, ed.
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of World Religions John Bowker, gen'l ed.
Cambridge Companions Online (complete, growing collection)
Culled from the subgroup:
The Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture
The Cambridge Companion to Arabic Philosophy
The Cambridge Companion to Biblical Interpretation
The Cambridge Companion to Classical Islamic Theology
The Cambridge Companion to Muhammad
Some online resources provide a combination of reference information, articles, suggested reading lists, texts, illustrations and sometimes links to other sources. One of these is the Oxford Islamic Studies Online database. It offers "reference content and commentary in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture. Contains over 3,000 A-Z reference entries, biographical entries, chapters from scholarly and introductory works, Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, and timelines." A very good starting place, indeed.
You can access a more complete list of our electronic Reference tooks using the Research Databases link on the Library's homepage. Example: Sage Reference Online
Hilye:
Ottoman Calligraphy Panel depicting the Prophet Muhammad
Hafiz Osman (1642–1698)
Source: Wikipedia Commons