These resources help a researcher three ways: First, background knowledge sets a topic in context, and gives names, dates, subtopics, etc. Second, a more focused vocabulary (with terms defined) for more precise computer searches. Third, listing pertinent articles and books to consult.
The lists are examples of online materials available at the William H. Hannon Library that you can use. Use your MyLMUlogin name and password to get into online resources with paid subscriptions.
Need help? Send any Reference librarian an e-mail or chat via our Get Help service. Or just drop by the Information Desk on the first floor of the Hannon Library.
Daniel
Portal of Modena Duomo, 12c
Photo: T Amodeo 2010
Credo Reference is a multidisciplinary collection of hundreds of reference titles, including subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, illustrated guides and biographies. Content is searchable by keyword or topic, and includes hyperlinked cross-references to related articles from other titles in the collection.
Here are some examples of the Reference tools available to you in the Information Commons Reference shelves. Come to the Information Desk for help finding the information you need. See the box below for some of our electronic Reference works.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (complete collection)
Contemporary American Religion, 2v, 1999
Encyclopaedia Judaica, 2nd Ed., 22v, 2007
Encyclopedia of American Religions, 7th Ed., 2003
Encyclopedia of Religion, 2nd Ed., 15v, 2005
New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd Ed., 15v, 2003
New Catholic Encyclopedia Jubilee Volume, 2nd Ed., 2000
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices , 3v, 2006
Oxford Reference Online (complete collection)
A Dictionary of the Bible W. R. F. Browning
Oxford Companion to the Bible Bruce M. Metzger and Michael D. Coogan, eds.
Oxford Guide to People and Places of the Bible B.M. Metzger & M.D. Coogan, eds.
Encylopedia of the Middle Ages André Vauchez
The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion Adele Berlin and Maxine Grossman, eds.
A Concise Companion to the Jewish Religion Louis Jacobs
Some online resources provide a combination of reference information, articles, suggested reading lists, texts, illustrations and sometimes links to other sources. One of these is the Oxford Biblical Studies Online database, which, besides other content, contains several full encyclopedias using the Browse function. It offers a very good starting place, indeed.
