LibGuides: Holodomor Commemoration: Articles

Featured Issue

The essays listed below appear in a special edition of The Harriman Review, published at Columbia University. Each is freely available as a .pdf at the publication's Web site. Scroll down to:

Harriman Review, Vol. 16, No. 2
Saturday, 01 November 2008

Contents:

Frank E. Sysyn Preface

Mykola Riabchuk Holodomor: The Politics of Memory and Political Infighting in Contemporary Ukraine

Liudmyla Grynevych The Present State of Ukrainian Historiography on the Holodomor and Prospects for Its Development

Hennadii Boriak Holodomor Archives and Sources: The State of the Art

Iryna Matiash Archives in Russia on the Famine in Ukraine

CIUS Newsletter

The Canadian Institute of Ukrainian Studies at the University of Alberta publishes a newsletter. A sample article from the 2010 issue, describing a lecture by Andrea Graziosi:

Italian Scholar’s Lecture Represents a Milestone in the Study of the Holodomor

Sample Indexing Databases

Use databases to find relevant articles. Use keyword searches, but also identify the 'official' subjects/descriptors within individual databases for focused searching.

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Subjects: History, Humanities, European Studies, Catholic Studies, Irish Studies, Peace Studies
Description: Research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Focused on the history of the world from 1450 forward, excluding the United States and Canada.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Books; Book Chapters; E-books; Book Reviews
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text, electronic archive of over 700 prominent journals in all academic subject areas including history. Instantly view all back issues of the Journal of British Studies or Victorian Studies among many others.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General online archive from ProQuest containing full text.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines
Times Digital Archive 1785-1985 This link opens in a new window
The Times of London's historical online archive. Search 'Ukraine and famine', find relevant articles chronologically

General Databases

LMU only

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from EBSCOhost containing full text. Includes materials from 1887-present.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Book Reviews
Research Library This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from ProQuest containing full text. It covers over 150 subjects and topics.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Newspapers; Popular (Non-Scholarly) Articles - Magazines; Trade/Professional Articles; Industry Reports