Dance

Video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, demonstrations, and raw footage. Includes PBS and BroadwayHD titles.

Dance Online contains five hundred hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Included are classic performances from top ballet companies; experimental works from up-and-coming dance troupes; documentaries by and about leading choreographers; videos on dance training; and other items covering a wide range of 20th century dance styles.

Digital teaching and research resource maintained by the University of Arizona containing educational films from 1922 - 2011.

The Library of Congress has digital collections of dance instruction manuals, Ballets Russes de Serge Diaghilev, as well as archival material from Bronislava Nijinska, Katherine Dunham, Martha Graham, and Roger Reynolds, to name a few.

Online streaming resources containing documentary films on folk and roots cultures.

First major digital video library of performance practices in the Americas created by NYU Libraries.

Digital movies uploaded by Archive users includes full-length films, news broadcasts, cartoons and concerts.

Streaming titles from the National Film Board of Canada related to dance, browsable by category.

Multimedia dance platform offering free access to filmed performances, documentaries, interviews, fictions, and dance videos showcasing many genres, styles, and forms developed by the French National Centre for dance.

Educational resource for avant-garde dance film and video materials.

Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater promotes the African-American cultural experience and the preservation and enrichment of the American modern dance.

Experimental dance and theater performances with artist talks.

Collection of dance videos filmed at Jacob's Pillow, America's longest running dance festival, from the 1930s to present.

Martha Graham Dance Company Youtube channel includes archival footage.

Key works from Merce Cunningham's repertory digitally preserved.

Interviews and selected dance performance from the Walker Center's YouTube channel.

The Jerome Robbins Dance Division of The New York Public Library is the largest and most comprehensive archive in the world devoted to the documentation of dance. Even though you do not have access to their physical library, searching their online catalog for your topic can help you identify books that you can then try to find in our library or via LINK+. This site also has an impressive collection of digital images.

Since Jerome Robbins Dance Division’s Archive of the Recorded Moving Image received those six cans of film donated in 1965, the archive has grown to over 25,000 titles of film and video. In 2014, The New York Public Library’s (NYPL) grant from the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation transformed the Library’s ability to serve our audio and moving image collections. The result of this work was the simple, yet powerful, viewing platform, found here.

Guide from NYPL with links to major internet sites featuring dance performance.