Portuguese by Sheila R. Ackerlind; Rebecca Jones-KelloggAn essential, comprehensive guide for all who are interested in learning the Portuguese language and mastering its complexities, Portuguese: A Reference Manual supplements the phonetic and grammatical explanations offered in basic textbooks. While the Manual focuses on Brazilian Portuguese, it incorporates European Portuguese variants and thus provides a more complete description of the language. Accessible to non-linguists and novice language learners, as well as informative for instructors of Portuguese and specialists in other languages, this guide incorporates the Orthographic Accord (in effect since 2009-2010), which attempts to standardize Portuguese orthography. The Manual reflects the language as it is currently taught at both the undergraduate and graduate levels by providing detailed explanations of the sound and writing systems and the grammar of the principal Portuguese dialects. A reference guide rather than a textbook, the Manual also provides extensive verb charts, as well as comparisons of Portuguese with English and Spanish.
Publication Date: 2011-10-25
Using Portuguese by Timothy Michael McGovern; Ana Sofia GanhoThis is a guide to Portuguese usage for students who have already acquired the basics of the language and wish to extend their knowledge. It covers both the Brazilian and the European varieties of the language, and differentiates clearly between them. It gives detailed explanations of grammatical structures and semantic fields and, unlike conventional grammars, it gives special attention to those areas of vocabulary and grammar which cause most difficulty to English-speakers. It also contains a special chapter for students who are familiar with Spanish, highlighting key similarities and differences between the two languages. Careful consideration is given throughout to questions of style, register, and politeness which are essential to achieving an appropriate level of formality or informality in writing and speech. Clear, readable and easy to consult via its two indexes, this is an essential reference for learners seeking access to the finer nuances of the Portuguese language.
Publication Date: 2006-05-25
Portuguese Business Dictionary by Morry SoferUp-to-date business terms including banking, the internet, computers, accounting, insurance, real estate, taxes, and more, designed to facilitate communication and cross linguistic barriers.
Publication Date: 2011-12-01
Learning Portuguese As a Second Language by Sandra FigueiredoThis volume examines the specific effects that schools have on the performance of immigrant students and linguistic minority groups. Especially in the European context this study fills a gap in examining the effects that schools have on these students' performance and performance differentiation, taking into account school related factors such as resources and teachers, and the influence of other variables like mother tongue and socioeconomic status. This report on an ongoing research project in Portugal examines state schools within the same district, in the same tests over the same assessment period. The study is based on the following set of relationships: between schools that administer proficiency tests to their non-native students; schools that do not use such tests; and schools with verifiable support programs (including physical and digital materials); and between the effect of the school and the predictive values of the nationality, mother tongue and socioeconomic status variables on the performance of non-native students of Portuguese.
Publication Date: 2017-05-02
Portuguese As an Additional Language by Ana C. NevesThis book focuses on Portuguese as an additional language and its young learners in three case studies within the Portuguese-speaking world: Portuguese as a second language in Cape Verde, Portuguese as a heritage language in Switzerland and Portuguese as a foreign language in Macao SAR. The term "additional language" is used as an umbrella term for all three contexts. An analysis of these three case studies is presented, with a focus on the organization of explicit and implicit language policies with regards to population mobility and also motivational issues, language attitudes and language use by the sample population.
Publication Date: 2019-12-19
Practice Makes Perfect: Basic Portuguese, Premium Second Edition by Sue Tyson-WardMaster Portuguese grammar through hands-on exercises and practice, practice, practice! Practice Makes Perfect: Basic Portuguese is a trusted companion to your Portuguese learning experience. In each bite-sized lesson, author Sue Tyson-Ward guides you through simple grammar and vocabulary concepts and illustrates them with clear examples. The accompanying fun and interesting exercises let you practice, practice, practice what you have learned. The lessons are short so you can complete them in twenty minutes or less, and you can go at a pace that works for you. THIS WORKBOOK WILL HELP YOU UNDERSTAND Saber vs. conhecer * Verb tenses * Essential vocabulary * Superlatives * Nouns * Adjectives * Sentence structure . . . and more Whether you are learning on your own or taking a beginning Portuguese class, Practice Makes Perfect: Basic Portuguese will help you build your confidence in your new language.
Publication Date: 2019
Practice Makes Perfect Basic Portuguese by Sue Tyson-WardMaster Portuguese grammar through hands-on exercises and practice, practice, practice! Practice Makes Perfect: Basic Portuguese is a trusted companion to your Portuguese learning experience. In each bite-sized lesson, author Sue Tyson-Ward guides you through simple grammar and vocabulary concepts and illustrates them with clear examples. The accompanying fun and interesting exercises let you practice, practice, practice what you have learned. The lessons are short soyou can complete them in twenty minutes or less, and you can go at a pace that works for you. THIS WORKBOOK WILL HELP YOU UNDERSTAND Saber vs. conhecer * Verb tenses * Essential vocabulary * Superlatives * Nouns * Adjectives * Sentence structure . . . and more Whether you are learning on your own or taking a beginning Portuguese class, Practice Makes Perfect: Basic Portuguese will help you build your confidence in your new language.
Publication Date: 2012-12-03
Basic Portuguese by Cristina SousaBasic Portuguese: A Grammar and Workbook comprises an accessible reference grammar and related exercises in a single volume. Twenty units cover the core material which students can expect to encounter in their first year of learning Portuguese. Grammar points are followed by examples and exercises which allow students to reinforce and consolidate their learning. Clearly presented and user-friendly, Basic Portuguese provides readers with a thorough grounding in the fundamentals of Portuguese grammar.
Publication Date: 2014-11-13
Portuguese by Amelia P. Hutchinson; Janet Lloyd; Cristina SousaThis new edition of Portuguese: An Essential Grammar is a practical reference guide to the most important aspects of modern European Portuguese. Combining traditional and function-based grammar, the book sets out the complexities of Portuguese in short, readable sections. Explanations are clear, free from jargon and substantiated by examples. Throughout, the emphasis is on Portuguese as used by native speakers. This third edition: reflects the new orthographic agreement; includes an expanded section on verbs and pronouns, as well as a new section on syntax; provides authentic examples to illustrate grammar in context; focuses on Portuguese as used in Portugal and Africa; links to Basic Portuguese: A Grammar and Workbook, which offers a valuable set of language practice exercises; includes a detailed contents list and index for easy access to information. An important addition to Routledge's collection of grammars on the variants of Portuguese, this is an ideal reference source for the learner and user of European Portuguese. It is suitable for either independent study or for students in schools, colleges, universities and adult classes of all types.