LibGuides: MECH 401 -- Capstone Project: Standards &amp; Patents

Standards

ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Engineering
Description: Research and technology standards containing links to other information sources. A collection of technical standards and select journals from ASTM (American Society for Testing and Materials) International
Contents: Technical standards
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Electrical Engineering, Computer Science
Description: Research database containing full text. Collection of content published by IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) which includes journals, conference proceedings, technical standards, books, and courses.
Contents: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journal Articles; Conference Proceedings; Standards

FDA Recognized Consensus Standards
A database of medical device standards which the FDA has accepted. Full text is not always included, but the database can be used to identify what standard to request.
Guide to Finding Standards
NIST offers a page advising how to find standards via organization websites.
SAI Global Standards Database
Using SAI's Standards database, you can search over 1 million standards to identify what standard you need. After the standard is identified, using ILLiad to submit a request to the library.
ILLiad: How to Request
A library FAQ explaining how to set up an account in ILLiad, used for requesting items outside of our collection.

Derwent Innovations Index This link opens in a new window
Subjects: MANY
Description: General research database from Thomson Reuters containing full text. Includes value-added patent information from Derwent World Patent Index as well as patent citation information from Patents Citation Index.
Contents: Patents

US Patent and Trademark Office
The USPTO provides free access to US Patents and Trademarks.