Get Help
Skip to main content

Library Resources in the Time of COVID-19

Use this guide to learn how to access library resources online and get virtual support with your research during the COVID-19 pandemic closure.

Library Collections Online

Many remote services already exist for accessing and using collections at the William H. Hannon Library. You do not need to use a VPN to access online resources from off-campus, but you do need to start at the library website and use your MyLMU login. For more information on how off-campus access works, see our Off-Campus Access page. Please note: only current LMU students, faculty, and staff have access to our online resources.

  • E-books: We provide access to more than a half-million e-books that LMU students, faculty, and staff can access with their MyLMU login remotely. You can search for e-books using our library catalog or OneSearch+. Note that simultaneous access, printing, and downloading permissions are set by each publisher, so they'll vary title by title. A librarian can help you figure out access options.
  • Journals: We provide online access to more than 53,000 journal titles. You can search journals by title from our homepage or browse our A-Z journals list.
  • Databases: We provide online access to more than 300 research databases. You can search and browse our A-Z databases list.
  • Special Collections: We provide online access to digitized versions of special collections materials at LMU Digital Collections

More information:

Streaming Videos and Music

Students and faculty have access to hundreds of thousands of streaming video and audio resources: Streaming Video databases and Streaming Music databases. If you need help determining if the library has access to streaming media, please contact our Get Help page. (Note: If you are trying to access streaming media from outside the United States, you may need to log into a virtual desktop.)

  • For Faculty: We are currently reviewing all of the DVDs you have put on reserve for your courses to determine if there are streaming alternatives. If those options do not exist, we will reach out to you. If you need streaming access to something that is not already on reserve, please use our Streaming Video Request Form.
  • For Students: If you need streaming access to a film, please search our catalog or use the resources above. If we do not have streaming access and it is required for your course work, please have your faculty/instructor contact us.

Additional Resources

Many publishers are unlocking their digital content to make it more accessible for the duration of this academic year. If you're searching for course materials unavailable through our library, we recommend checking out the following. Can't find what you're looking for? Ask a Librarian, and we'll see what we can do. 

  • National Emergency Library: Hosted by the Internet Archive, this collection of 1.4 million e-books (mostly titles published from 1920-1990s, unavailable in any other digital format) was available until June 16, 2020. Since then, books in the National Emergency Library have been made available to one borrower at a time using controlled digital lending.
  • International Coalition of Library Consortia (ICOLC) Google Doc: A list of online content providers who are providing expanded complimentary access to resources.